1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Cara took a deep breath and let it out slowly. ‘She’s not just my daughter,’ she said as she turned in her seat to face Jack. This man she had once loved, but who she hadn’t seen for nearly five years. ‘Sophie is your daughter, too.'" 

It is past 10 o’clock on a cold Friday night when Rebecca and her husband Jack’s doorbell rings. Outside is a woman who introduces herself as Jack’s ex-girlfriend, Cara. And she’s holding the hand of a shivering, blue-eyed, four-year-old girl who she claims is Jack’s daughter. 

Rebecca is shocked to discover he has a child from his last relationship - even one he hadn’t known about. Because becoming parents isn’t part of their life plan. They like children, but they also love their freedom and spending time together uninterrupted; the way that, if they wanted to, they could travel the world at a moment’s notice. 

But Cara needs them. Because Cara has a devastating secret that she can’t tell anyone yet. Not even her daughter. A secret with the power to change all of their lives. 

A secret that will ultimately mean Rebecca has to ask herself - could she find it in herself to welcome her husband’s child into her home and into her heart? 

A heartbreaking and powerful emotional women’s fiction novel about love, friendship, and what it truly means to be a parent, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Kate Hewitt. 

©2020 Emma Robinson (P)2020 Bookouture, an Imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about My Husband's Daughter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    144
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    123
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Completely captivating!

I never ever write reviews though I rely on them heavily when selecting my next listen. This book absolutely gripped my mind then heart! I will think of the characters for a long while to come. You won’t regret this listen!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

My Husband's Daughter

Meh.... I was very underwhelmed by the story and the characters. Stock characters and too predictable 🙄. I cannot recommend to anyone. 😒

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant Novel!

I don’t have time to read or even hear a novel, but the the title caught my sight and I got the audio book. The narrator was captivating, I was not able to put it down and in two days I hear the whole novel. I cried, I laugh and I really loved it. A great read, just enough of all the good things in a great plot to keep the reader on edge.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CR
  • 09-09-22

Great book

Excellent book!!! A must read, I was a little bored with it at first but then I got really really good

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!!!

This book made me both laugh and cry!! Amazingly written listened to entire book in two days!!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

really boring and unrealistic

I found this book to be really slow and boring and so overly dramatic. The turn of character of Rebecca seems really unrealistic to me. I did not like it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • KN
  • 02-06-22

Fantastic book! The narrator was fabulous too

It’s a Wonderfully story! You will definitely need to have a box of tissue at hand.
This book will captivate you and you will be hooked for sure.
I could not stop listening to it until the end!
The narrator was also terrific, you can’t go wrong with this beautiful story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Joy and Tears... Great book.

I could not put it down. Endearing story. My heart went out to the single mother fighting for her life against a terminal cancer.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!! Heartwarming and very interesting.

Loved it! It was heartwarming and very interesting. The characters were real and full of life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Had me from the beginning

This book had me from the very first chapter, and continued until the very end! I loved the characters and how they interacted with each other. I would have liked to have heard more from the dad's perspective, however. This book tugged at my heartstrings, and I was so grateful there was an epilogue at the end of the story. Well done! I will buy more books from this author!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teeny
  • Teeny
  • 07-28-22

Emotional

This book is amazing, funny , sad , very touching and if you have or haven’t suffered a loss it will have you in tears. The compassion for another human out weighs their needs

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for P C JONES
  • P C JONES
  • 06-30-22

Loved this audio book

I couldn't stop listening to the story. I fell In love with the characters.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customermaggie
  • Amazon Customermaggie
  • 04-29-22

slow

very slow and boring , would not recommend. Don't waste your money this is not worthit

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elaine Shariff
  • Elaine Shariff
  • 04-05-21

hundreds dsughter

a very interesting story very realistic and ubpredictable which had me hooked from start to finish

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rosie @ 36
  • Rosie @ 36
  • 03-09-21

Easy listen

I listened to ‘ My Silent Daughter’ and enjoyed it. So I bought this. Well read and an interesting and well written book. Worth the listen

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fionne Jones
  • Fionne Jones
  • 02-13-21

Excellent; Gripping

The story flowed just like my tears did towards the end of this gripping sensitively written story. I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patrick Dee
  • Patrick Dee
  • 11-08-20

What a wonderful story

What a wonderful story, very emotional, great characters, a story that had me gasping at moments , stunning , loved it, beautifully narrated .

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 07-22-22

tear jerker

a very sweet story. Warning, this is a real tear jerker. I recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Avid Reader
  • Avid Reader
  • 07-06-22

A tear jerker

I haven’t sobbed as much in years of reading. This book touches your heart to the core.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Margaret
  • Margaret
  • 06-16-22

WOW!

What a beautiful well written and narrated story! A word of warning. Better to not be in public when reading toward the end! It’s pretty powerful and there may be tears.