• My Little Girl

  • A Totally Gripping Psychological Thriller Full of Shocking Twists
  • By: Shalini Boland
  • Narrated by: Katie Villa
  • Length: 10 hrs and 11 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (285 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
My Little Girl  By  cover art

My Little Girl

By: Shalini Boland
Narrated by: Katie Villa
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $4.99

Buy for $4.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Your daughter is missing. Did someone close to you take her?

Seven-year-old Beatrice has gone missing. Her mother Claire’s whole world has been turned upside down in just one moment, and she can’t stop shaking. She’s desperate to find her precious daughter, but nothing about the day she disappeared makes sense....

The mother-in-law: Jill was meant to be looking after Beatrice. She says she didn’t take her eyes off the little girl, but her version of events doesn’t add up.... Claire has never got on with her, so why should she trust her now? 

The husband: He should have been with their only child. Instead, he changed the plans without telling Claire. She didn’t think there were any secrets between them, but maybe she was wrong? 

The first wife: Laurel has always been jealous of Claire’s family. Has her husband’s ex-wife taken her daughter? 

Which one of them is lying? And who really knows where Beatrice is? 

From the million-copy best-selling author, this totally addictive psychological thriller will keep you guessing all the way to the final shocking twist. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl, and The Wife Between Us.

©2021 Shalini Boland (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about My Little Girl

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    168
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    193
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    147
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ok I guess

This could have been done in half the time. You’ll figure out who’s the one early on and it wraps up pretty quick. Final chapters are a waste. If you’re waiting for a twist you’ll be disappointed. In fact this whole book is a disappointment.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Predicatable and repetitive

I don't know why I kept listening but I did. There was nothing substantial here, No suspense at all and no twist. I predicted what was happening and it was the biggest snooze of the possibilities. I could have written this book and I'm not an author.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator is great!

I’m only on chapter 18 and I can’t stop listening! The narration is by far the best I’ve listened to yet! She brings the book alive!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

she has done it again.

Even though this kind of story has been told a thousand times, even another time Boland please don't pass on this book. The author has such a way of drawing you in and keeping you there that even after you finish you will find yourself wondering about the characters. deffinely worth the time

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sooooo good!

I love these Shalini Boland Katie Villa audiobooks! The writing is gripping and fun and the performance perfect. They keep getting better and better.

This one is one of my favorites. I can’t wait for the next one!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Meh!

Just didn’t wow me. It was hard to like the characters & I just wasn’t crazy about this one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not her best, but worth the listen

Maybe I'm just too used to the formula of trying to make a twist by making the bad guy the nicest or most innocuous or unlikely person, but I figured this out pretty early on. Still, it was entertaining enough for a listen. I enjoy her writing style, and will continue to read her work.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Long.

I love this author but this book was long and actually boring. It the usual twist and turns

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Tad Slow

I found the story moved very slowly which was surprising since all the reviews I read claimed the
exact opposite. The whole story is figuring out who abducted the daughter. The story is told through the perspective of several characters mainly the mother and grandmother. I really felt no intrigue into the story until the last 4 hours and the final two hours were very good. Narration is great. If you can tolerate slow pace until over the halfway mark, you will like this book. As stated the ending is good and almost worth the wait. Almost.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enraptured from the very first page!

excellently written, full of mystery with tension wrapped twist and turns. the Narration brings it to life as nothing else can.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paula
  • Paula
  • 05-29-21

Interesting listen

A really gripping story line all through until the end. just about to purchase the next book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MarisaReads
  • MarisaReads
  • 05-24-21

Oh, dear

Okay, I usually love Shalini Boland but I don’t know what happened here with My Little Girl. Plodding pace, silly plot, not suspenseful, and basically not up to usual standards. I’m disappointed. Gets two stars because I was able to finish it, but otherwise I really didn’t like this one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wayne
  • Wayne
  • 05-10-21

Absolutely brilliant

Absolutely loved this book and Katie villa is one of the best narrators , can’t wait for some more new shallini books I’ve listened to everyone of hers and loved them all

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 04-27-21

Another easy listen

It was very obvious but nonetheless, an entertaining and enjoyable listen right up until the very end which was beyond obvious and for me, spoiled it a little. This narrator is very good.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for stickypaws
  • stickypaws
  • 08-17-21

Excellent didn't want it to end!

I was hooked from start to finish, brilliant writer and beautifully read. would listen again.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janey H
  • Janey H
  • 10-13-22

Enjoyable

I enjoyed this but it wasn’t the best one I have listened to by Shalini.
I found the story to a bit slow to start and it took several hours to get into.
Would I recommend? Yes but there are better books out there

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for charlotte thomas
  • charlotte thomas
  • 09-02-22

What a left down

Really disappointed with the story. Got to the end but not worth wasting time on this book

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynette Corengia
  • Lynette Corengia
  • 08-24-22

poor

very unbelievable and silly nobody would react like that if your child was abducted..disappointed

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JLG84
  • JLG84
  • 05-23-22

Disappointed

I have read many books by Shalini Boland and Im usually absolutely gripped. I’ve also recommended her books to friends but this one felt dull and I couldn’t relate to a single one of the characters.
I persevered to the end hoping something would suddenly pull me into the book but it just didn’t happen for me.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marie
  • Marie
  • 12-08-21

easy listening

New to me author and I enjoyed this book. wasn't too gripping but it was worth a listen

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karla
  • Karla
  • 06-16-21

Over the top not quite believable

The mother in this story is really depressing and really makes some stupid decisions that I doubt I’d make. Then I’ve never lost a child. I preferred Granny Jill much more believable. I was intrigued but not sure I was riveted.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-26-21

Went nowhere

This was described as a psychological thriller, well I kept listening for way too long hoping for something to happen. Couldn't finish, the dithery characters did nothing except get more and more and more boring