adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.52

Buy for $20.52

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

2020 Audie Awards® Finalist - Middle Grade

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature, and an Audie Award finalist!

An original full-cast audio adaptation of the graphic novel from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft, performed by the author with Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey, and Ron Butler.

Named an Audible Best Audiobook of the Year!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds - and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Filled with sound effects and original music, this audio adventure is one the whole family will enjoy.

A selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List.

Plus don't miss Jerry Craft's Class Act!

©2019 Jerry Craft (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

Featured Article: The Best Audiobooks to Listen to Your Favorite Comics and Graphic Novels


No matter where you are in your search for the best comic audiobooks, there’s one thing pretty much everyone can agree on: they've come a long way. The idea that visual mediums like comics and graphic novels can't be translated for audio has been disproven time and again with some of the most exciting and immersive listening experiences you can find in any genre. There's something on this list for every flavor of comic book fan.

More from the same

Author

Narrator

What listeners say about New Kid

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    277
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    235
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    219
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best little story for your whole family

This is book is totally entertaining and engaging for all ages. You can have your kids listen in.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

BEST BOOK EVER BOIZ

OK LET US FACE IT THIS IS A GREAT BOOK AND WHOEVER RATES IT BADLY IS AN IDIOT AND A FREAK!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome, fun, funny

What a great experience listening to this audio book. Poignant and timeless. Jerry Craft is masterful.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Me and my 11 year old son thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book. This was my first selection to listen together on his way to school as a way to encourage him to read more.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining!

I have a confession. i bought this audiobook for my 11 yr old grandson. I decided to listen to a snippet of it b4 turning it over to him. I ended up listening to the whole thing while cooking dinner. The story, the performers, the humor was so entertaining. I cant wait for my grandson to listen. Highly recommend

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

hard to follow along

I was reading this book while listening to it on audible and I have to say the audible story is a little different then the actual book so it ends up being hard to follow along. Still a good book though! Would recommend definitely.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

pretty good

loved it the narrator was funny and smart and really nice and he acts like me i love art and I'm going to a new jr high.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I remember when

I loved this story so much I definitely could relate to the story because I went too boarding school. It brought back such memories ,I'm in my sixties and I enjoyed this book so much, of course I brought the book for my grandson who will start middle school in September. This book is a great read and even better audiobook.
Thank you Jerry Craft for memory lane❤

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Summer reading

I have dyslexia as well as adhd and a few other learning disabilities , I usually hate my summer reading books but this book was really good and I was able to get it done within three weeks a book for me usually takes a couple months or even years to finish so I really am great full for audible .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

was a great book for my daughter especially since she also joined a new school

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Liv
  • Liv
  • 06-18-20

amazing

goodggggy
gggggtyfdffgvhgjhgygnygynglllllpvqwertugood good is is is is is is is is ok is it ok unbelievably

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for goolster
  • goolster
  • 08-16-19

Awesome audiobook!

Highly recommended! I've sent the author a tweet saying that it changed my university/academic life!