1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"A sucker punch to the senses...a killer story with real heart and soul." (Alastair Reynolds)

When a young man's planet is destroyed, he sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across the galaxy in Nophek Gloss, the first book in this epic space-opera trilogy debut - perfect for fans of Revenger and Children of Time.

Caiden's planet is destroyed. His family gone. And, his only hope for survival is a crew of misfit aliens and a mysterious ship that seems to have a soul and a universe of its own. Together they will show him that the universe is much bigger, much more advanced, and much more mysterious than Caiden had ever imagined. But the universe hides dangers as well, and soon Caiden has his own plans.

He vows to do anything it takes to get revenge on the slavers who murdered his people and took away his home. To destroy their regime, he must infiltrate and dismantle them from the inside, or die trying.

©2021 Essa Hansen (P)2021 Orbit

What listeners say about Nophek Gloss

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book!

A great story with excellent characters. The story takes you to highs and lows and back again. Outstanding narration as well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible writing

The author's writing is poetry in prose form. Vivid and artful. While the story was too long for my taste, it was clever and unique. The narration took the story to a whole new level; a performance that brought yet another dimension to already rich and complex characters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Leaves unfinished plot

Story ends at a point which is pure fantasy
And minor story development

I do not see a second book on Amazon at this time
R

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Quite Fun

While this book has some pacing issues, I found it to be quite intriguing. Many of the elements were original. I had such a good time.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Cool Idea, poor story

I took a chance on this book because the premise sounded fun. This book has a lot of cool ideas, but the story wasn’t very compelling. I felt the characters were very surface level and I never got attached to them. The main character was very frustrating to read, I stopped caring because any time he would start to become interesting he would get angry and destroy any progress he made.

Look elsewhere for your credit or money, unless you have nothing else to listen to.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

good, but could have been better.

took a chance with this book, while not terrible or anything, it was meh. I didn't feel as engaged as I typically get with similar books. the voice acting was pretty great, loved the different characters.

the story was a bit of a disappointment. just didn't seem to go any where and would then rocket forward from one paragraph to another. actions were not clear until they were explained in post.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Hard Pass

I rarely, if ever, request a refund from Audible, but the writing in the first hour of this book is so bad that I cannot in good conscience keep this title.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Started with a promising premise, went down hill

I wanted to like this book. It started with a promising premise, and went down hill from there. Apparently no one in this universe has ever thought to arm ships. the idea is never brought up or even explained away. Despite characters using literal lasers, can't even strap one of those to the wing of a ship. there are plenty of other shortfalls I feel the story had, but despite all this, I still tried to like the book. I liked the crew and their little quirks and scars. I feel like the author would do very well if they were to team up with someone who was good at the Sci-fi ship battles and tech, and they could focus on the general story and the characters.