1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

What if the person you trust most in the world is lying to you? 

I’d heard of the Baby Caroline case, of course. When a baby is snatched from her mother’s arms, the whole country knows about it. I knew about the parents left lying by the swimming pool, the open window in the nursery. But I never dreamed it had anything to do with me. 

Today, my beautiful daughter turned one. We were unwrapping gifts and blowing out candles when the knock came at the door, and they took my mother away. The police say she’s not really my mother. That she stole me, 30 years ago.

When I visit her, desperate for answers, she looks me in the eye, and says nothing. I can barely breathe. Is my whole life a lie? I have to find out, but the more I learn, the more scared I become. And soon I start to wonder, am I losing my grip on reality, or is my own daughter in terrible danger? 

An absolutely gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware, and Lisa Jewell. 

©2021 Miranda Smith (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Not My Mother

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

PERFECT

What else can I say...other one than in my opinion the author did it all as well as did the narrator! Thank you Audible!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Don't pass this one up!

I'm a fan of Miranda Smith and like her other titles, this one was really good. Marion has led a pretty sheltered life on account of her mother never wanting to travel or go anywhere. Never knowing fully why, Marion was prohibited from participating in school trips, sleep overs, and often wondered why she'd never met any other family members to include her own father. Now, an adult with a child of her own, Marion's life is flipped on its head when her mother is arrested at the birthday party she's put together for her own one-year old daughter, Ava. With so many questions and very few answers, Marion is determined to get to the bottom of everything only, who is she to believe? Will she believe the mother who raised her or the one claiming to be her mother after years of trying to find her after she was kidnapped from her crib at just three months old? The book goes back and forth from past and present. It is told from Marion's present time and Eileen's past. Brace yourselves for a plot-twisting ride as Marion seeks out the truth of the past.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Ruined by the ending

Don’t want to give any hints on how it ended but I felt it was ridiculous. Had to put away all sense if reality. The first 3/4 of the book was great and as was the narrator.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Predictable

There were no twists, as you knew where this book was going from the beginning. The daughter is too quick to assume the worst of her own mother and the best of a stranger which also made the story that much more predictable with the too perfect happy ending.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Story is ok, narration is annoying

Okay story, few twists and turns, the narrator sounds like she has a mouthful of water at all times and it is ver distracting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story!!

I loved this book!! It was a great story with twists and turns and a happy ending ❤️

The narrator was ok…her ‘men voices’ sounded like pubescent boys and her 50+ year old women voices sounded like frail, dying, 90 year olds. 🤷🏼‍♀️

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not bad, a little slow.

The story itself is interesting but it came across slowly from start to finish. There really was only one part that was a bit suspenseful. Although character development was ok some could have been better. I either missed it or it’s still a mystery about Evans contribution to Ava? Overall there is a lot of potential for this book.

Narration was good separating characters but at times Miriam was a snooze.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Contrived and manipulative tale

I'm a big fan of domestic thrillers, and I chose this book based on its excellent reviews. From the beginning, there was something vaguely yucky about the story. My negative feelings increased the more I listened. By the end, I concluded that the whole point was for the author to create a tale in which she could insert a major twist, with no consideration to character development or psychological realism. I'll be adding this novel to my list of "worst books that I actually finished."

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 09-19-21

Entertaining listen

Entertaining and very well narrated. It’s a then and now scenario which has become very popular in recent years. I must confess to a few eye rolls, when you realise what is going on and you hear “chapter xxxx”, there just seems to be too many chapters left to fill. But it was fine.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Annie
  • Annie
  • 12-17-21

Didn't hang together for me

She loves her mother but immediately believes she isn't her mother. The mother with the abusive background immediately becomes a paragon of virtue with no flaws other than secrecy. The DNA is ignored until too late in the book. Too many holes in the plot. Disappointing

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jennybell
  • jennybell
  • 08-25-21

KEPT ME GRIPPED FROM PAGE ONE

Every now and then a book comes along that you find yourself reading slower and slower because you’re enjoying the storyline and characters so much you literally don’t want to finish reading it. This is one of those books. Although the twists and turns did sometimes force me to go back over a few pages to make sure I’d read it right. No spoilers here, but this book would make a brilliant film.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kerryne
  • Kerryne
  • 08-27-21

Great !

Really enjoyed this, great story & narration. I am now a fan of Miranda Smith 😊