1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Notes from Walnut Tree Farm  By  cover art

Notes from Walnut Tree Farm

By: Roger Deakin
Narrated by: Roy McMillan
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.49

Buy for $17.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

Calming, thought-provoking, poetic and honest, Notes from Walnut Tree Farm is a collection of writing and musing by documentary-maker, environmentalist and author of Waterlog Roger Deakin.

For the last six years of his life, Roger Deakin kept notebooks. In them, he wrote his daily thoughts, impressions, feelings and observations about and around his Suffolk home, Walnut Tree Farm. Collected here are the very best of these writings, capturing his extraordinary, restless curiosity about nature as well as his impressions of our changing world. 

Perfect for fans of Robert Macfarlane and Colin Tudge, this is a book that fills listeners with a desire to explore the world around them.

©2020 Roger Deakin (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Gentle, straight, honest, inquisitive, funny, melancholic." (Spectator)

"A secular saint." (The Times)

"Marvellous, wonderful, lovely, remarkable...to be read and reread and treasured." (Elizabeth Jane Howard, Daily Mail

What listeners say about Notes from Walnut Tree Farm

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for frosty
  • frosty
  • 03-11-21

surprisingly thorough portrait

I loved this book it felt really nice to be rooted in walnut tree farm and have everything go on around this location having read deakins other 2 books I saved this for last as I didn't think it would say much more but it is probably my favourite as it gives a full picture of his life on the farm and little anecdotes that give a portrait of his personality

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scotty
  • Scotty
  • 10-17-22

Superb

A wonderful read, cannot recomend it enough If you enjoy nature books this is for you.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. Mary Y. Berry
  • Mrs. Mary Y. Berry
  • 05-09-22

A truly amazing story

A wonderful book of notes . Interesting. Thought provoking and beautifully read So glad I have this on audible.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark J Dilley
  • Mark J Dilley
  • 03-07-22

Fabulous

A great book wonderfully narrated. Gave me great joy listening to it. A year in nature. Who could ask for more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julieb
  • Julieb
  • 12-17-21

lovely to listen to

good narrator in Rogers place. love he mentions Ronald blyth another amazing Suffolk writer. easy on the ear and informative

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for hammy
  • hammy
  • 06-29-21

superb

this is superb writing and narration . thoroughly enjoyed listening to words of Roger Deakin.