adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An heir on the run.

In one month, Aoife Cascade will turn 20 and take her seat on the Council of Cregah, an honor she's been preparing for her whole life. But when she lets a secret slip to her mother with devastating consequences, all her plans for the future crumble. Believing her people to be better off without her, she flees Cregah, stowing away aboard a pirate ship bound for dangerous waters.

A Pirate Captain who needs her help.

Captain Declan McCallagh is young compared to the pirate lords, but after 12 years on the grueling sea, he has earned a well-respected ship and the attention of the lords, who'd like nothing better than to see his ruin. All he wants is to leave the Aisling Sea - and his past-behind him. But when his sister demands he find the enchanted dagger her rebel faction needs to overthrow the ruling Council, he'll have to decide whether to cast off all family ties or take the perilous voyage to waters guarded by sirens, only passable with the help of the last remaining fae, currently imprisoned by the Council.

With murder and betrayal at every turn, can Aoife and Declan learn to rely on one another?

Or will the secrets they carry destroy their people-and each other?

©2021 Vanessa Rasanen (P)2021 Vanessa Rasanen

What listeners say about On These Black Sands

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it even more!

I read this book in physical form and really enjoyed it; however, the audiobook made me love it even more! The narrator’s delivery of Aoife with an accent makes her more likeable to me as a reader.

The Irish influence used to develop this fantasy world comes across much clearer in the audiobook.

For fans of fantasy with an Irish flare, complete with morally gray pirates. Declan will forever be my favorite snarky character.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A compelling pirate story with the perfect blend of adventure and romance

Can I just say how much I adore this story? Aoife and Declan are such great characters, and I loved their unique POVs. Kate was fun too, and I hope we hear more about her in the next one. The narrator was also perfect!
Absolutely masterful with her accents and the portrayal of so many different characters. The world building is amazing, and I’m just holding in all the feels cos I heard the cliffhanger was in.tense. Perfect for fans of Fable or Daughter of the Pirate King with the right amount of sass and spice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING story and characters

Holy cow, I loved this so much! I saw that this book was “similar” to fable, so I immediately knew I needed to read it and I was not disappointed. I loved the strong heroine and watching her chase her passions in a world where life is difficult for her. I thought the writing was so well done and thoughtful. You can tell there’s a clear direction and that this story is going to be smooth through the full series. The creative world was so different and unique. I fell in love with the entire plot line and characters. Another thing that I was really impressed with was Vanessa’s ability to incorporate real life problems and personal hardships in a very responsible and sensitive matter. Absolutely must read and dying for book two!

A big thank you to this author who shared this copy with me. I have left this review of my own decision.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-26-21

Good Book

Easy to listen to, I did listen to it expecting it to be a bit more mature and less like a YA. So if that’s what your looking for hooray.