1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

He's the campus golden boy. She's picking up the pieces of her broken past. But in Cecy Robson's scorching novel of second chances - perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn - their differences only make their connection more explosive.

Every memory Lety Tres Santos has from her childhood comes with a scar - some emotional, some physical. Her father is an abusive drug addict, and her mother enables his destructive behavior. College offers Lety a fresh start...until her father finds a way to ruin that, too. Now, after losing her scholarship to kick off junior year, Lety must somehow stay in school, pay tuition, and turn a deaf ear to the whispers that follow her. And she intends to do it all without Brody Quaid's help.

Brody is a lacrosse star, a 4.0 student - and as a freshman, he fell hard for the beautiful and spirited Lety. But their relationship crashed and burned because he couldn't break through the walls she's put up around her heart. With Lety hurting more than ever, Brody strives to win her back and make her believe in real love and true partnership. That will mean opening up secrets locked away in his own past - and trusting someone more than he's ever dared.

Lety knows how painful it can be to depend on the wrong man. She also knows how much Brody wants to do this the right way. But it takes more than sizzling desire to move on and build a future together.

©2015 Cecy Robson, LLC (P)2017 Audible, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"This family drama filled with past horrors and possible salvation tugs at the heartstrings. Full of romance and humor - and a bit of steamy sex - this story from [Cecy] Robson is sure to be a hit in any collection." (Library Journal)

What listeners say about Once Loved

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    708
  • 4 Stars
    140
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    660
  • 4 Stars
    116
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    660
  • 4 Stars
    125
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It's ok

Even though I didn't love the first book in this series, I wanted to know more about Lety and Brody. I liked this story but the unnecessary drama kept me from loving it. There's also some inconsistencies in the location that I just couldn't let go.

I really am not a fan of this narrator. It feels like she's just reading a book aloud but not really narrating it.

I'll give the third book in this series a try since I'm curious about Sophia and Killian

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An uplifting story

Lety Tres Santos can’t seem to escape her abusive father’s reach. He was responsible for her break up with her boyfriend Brody Quaid and now threatens her college scholarship. Despite her reluctance, Brody won’t give up on their relationship as they resume it and try to live some semblance of a normal life.

I fell in love with these characters, especially Lety. Her family circumstances were horrible, unfortunately not unusual. Her resilience, spirit and drive were beyond admirable while staying in the authentic zone. Brody wasn’t the stereotypical wealthy and entitled college frat boy on a Lacrosse Team and once his backstory is revealed, you get a sense of his true values.

It’s not an exciting story though there are some harrowing moments. But, it’s an uplifting one where you just want these two people to succeed in life and with each other. There are some strong themes here that resonate in high volume. As with the first book in the series, the cultural aspects are realistically presented and not in a gratuitous way. The narrator was almost pitch perfect and she WAS Lety. I’m really looking forward to the final story in this trilogy, which was deftly teed up in this one.

(I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review)

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this series!

I could do without all this sex. We all know about sex…
But the story line was intense with unexpected twists and turns.
Loved both of the first books and have now bought the third!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

easily one of my fave series in the plus catelog

so far!!!

you can't help but cry and laugh and completely fall in love with these characters... Brody is just to die for and your heart will break and heal with Letys through this book.. plus you get to know what's up with Mateo and Evy :) great listen!

I love the narrator too!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Once Loved

I was so impressed by the maturity of Brody in this book and his love for Lettie. I cannot say in honesty that I understand the cultural ramifications that were allowed to hurt and belittle Lettie and her siblings. I’m not trying to pass judgement-just saying I do not understand them. In saying this, I found Lettie and Mateo so strong for what they had been through at the hands of an abusing father.

I know bad things happen to good people all the time and I’m so glad that Brody and Lettie found a way to live a life of love, strength together, and to reach their full potential.

This was a great book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved

I enjoyed this book even better than the first in the series. Once again I love the characters and the plot had some really good twists that you didn’t see coming. The narrator even seemed to up her game. Totally engaging, and looking forward to the last book in the series. I’m not gonna lie, I am a bit concerned about how soft the youngest Tres Santos sibling is, but I do love finding more out about the characters I’ve already read about.💖💖💖💖💖

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

The female voices are all great, but all the male voices sound like immature, pre-puberty adolescents, unfortunately. Loved the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brody and Lety

An intensely emotional and heartbreakingly beautiful journey to go on with Lety and Brody. This story definitely kept me on the edge of my seat and I enjoyed every single suspenseful moment of it.
Narration was perfection.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

oh the drama.

TRIGGERS: Domestic Violence, Child Abuse. So, I have to say that I enjoyed this book a lot more than the first one but to be honest, it has been a long time since I read the first book. I loved the reintroduction of Evie and Mateo and seeing how their relationship has grown. This story, while still dealing with the Tres Santos family, is about his younger sister, Letty and her off and on boyfriend Brody. There was awesome character buildup up for both Letty and Brody as well as Brody's family. I liked that it isn't just the Tres Santos family that has issues but now we have a new family involved and they are just as screwed up. It wasn't hard to figure out what was going on with Brody's family but three dramas within their circle was very well written and kept your wheels turning constantly. This was a really good book. Kudos to CR.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

This is my favorite book in the series so far. I love Lettie’s character. She’s such a strong amazing woman. The twist with Lettie’s employment was shocking! I’m so glad this couple persevered and I hope we hear more about them.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Lacey
  • S. Lacey
  • 11-12-17

Amazing!!!

I love this new series by Cecy, this is the second book in the series, the first centred around Mateo and Evie, this one is centred around Mateo's younger sister Lety and her boyfriend (an old friend of Evie's) Brody.

The story is heart breaking at times as both Lety and Brody have some serious trauma in their pasts, Lety's is similar to Mateo's given that they grew up together in the same house, but she suffered in different ways, including being shamed by the events surrounding her conception.

Brody has his own family trauma that we also learn about in the book and it may not be as extensive a history of suffering like Lety had to go through but it is heart wrenching too.

They were perfect for each other because they made each other better and healed each other's pain. The ending was bittersweet for me, I liked how things ended for Lety and Brody as a couple but was sorry that her mother never truly stood by her kids or supported them. She seemed to make a small gesture at the end but it was a case of 'too little, too late'.

I also loved the updates on how Mateo and Evie were doing, I love those two and was happy with where they were at in their relationship and their lives. A really great book and I'd recommend getting it!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for P
  • P
  • 01-05-22

An unexpectedly good find🙂

Am really enjoying this series by Cecy Robson. This was book 2. Some interesting twists and turns. Plenty of drama and heat. Not run of the mill and I like the linkage between the books characters and stories. Pleasantly surprised. Definitely worth listening to and I’m off to listen to book 3 right now.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for FBooks
  • FBooks
  • 12-28-21

Make sure you have some tissue for your tears.

OMG! The things Lety go through at the hands of her father and grief she endured watching her continuously be her husband's punching bag while she herself is abused by the same man.
This story is totally heartbreaking for both Lety and her family and brody and his family.
Lety and Brody are seriously flawed emotionally and physically but together they are able to heal each other and find peace.
I am so happy that Lety finally finds the courage to stand up to her dad and let him pay for his behaviour.
I hope her mum will finds peace too, she may not being courageous enough to leave her abusive husband but it's not an easy tasks, especially when she believes it's the right thing to do based on her culture.

1 person found this helpful