1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A murderous puzzle.

A compromised crime scene.

One DCI whose determination to nail the killer could cost him his life....

Detective Harry Grimm can’t catch a break. When his much-needed vacation is interrupted by a call reporting a decomposed corpse, he races home to examine the gruesome remains. Learning the young woman was tortured, he’s stunned when the peaceful countryside site explodes, destroying evidence and causing more death.

Uncovering clues from the victim’s car, Grimm struggles to keep up with a cunning killer when he discovers yet another body. But when the seasoned DCI examines the grisly murder and compares forensics, he’s alarmed when the patterns match those of a brutal drug dealer he put behind bars years back.

Can this hardened cop nab a wily crook before his own blood stains the picturesque dales?

One Bad Turn is the ninth book in the gripping Harry Grimm police procedural series. If you like high-stakes drama, wounded heroes, and unexpected twists, then you’ll love David J. Gatward’s thrilling cat-and-mouse chase.

Buy One Bad Turn to twist fate’s knife today!

One Bad Turn is the ninth book in the DCI Harry Grimm crime thriller series, set in the Yorkshire Dales, and perfect for fans of L. J. Ross, J.R. Ellis, Margaret Mayhew, Jeanne M. Dams, J. M. Dalgliesh, Roger Silverwood, J. D. Kirk, Adam Croft, and Simon McCleave.

©2022 David J. Gatward (P)2022 David J. Gatward

What listeners say about One Bad Turn

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another good story, but a question…

David Gatward has added another good story to his series. I look forward to the next installment.

My question: is there some agreement that I missed among UK crime writers to borrow characters from other UK crime writers? This book borrowed DCI Kett from Alex Smith. And, not long ago J D Kirk borrowed Grimm himself in one of his (Scottish) DCI Logan series stories. Honestly, I admit I’m getting a chuckle out of it. I also wonder if I’ve missed some because there may be some author involved that I don’t/ haven’t read. Would probably like to.

Aubrey Parsons is great, as usual. I think he does wonderful accents. To be fair though, I’m an American and wouldn’t really be able to vouch for their accuracy!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Figured it out early on…

… but still very enjoyable! I like Harry and enjoy how the characters have changed:moved forward. I would still love a “crossover “ between DCI Grimm and DCI Logan! Geez! Imagine them meeting and working a case! Even crazier, imagine Jason and Tyler meeting up?? “Airight, boss?” 😆
Very good stories in This series and looking forward to the next.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Harry Grimm

What a fantastic series! I’ve so enjoyed getting to know all the characters. Sad that it’s over

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Will Swann
  • Will Swann
  • 04-20-22

Another gripping listen.

on the edges of my seat once again. Looking forward to many Grimm tales to come!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-17-22

Fabulous

I adore this series,the only problem is I get through them too quickly because I can’t stop listening.It’s a pleasure to meet up with the regular characters ,the narrator is fantastic,it’s more like a full cast drama than a novel and the storyline never lets you down.
I highly recommend this book and can’t wait for the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beverley
  • Beverley
  • 06-25-22

When is book 10?

Having had a binge listen (is that a thing?) I cannot express just how much I have enjoyed listening to ALL nine books. I have laughed and I have had tears all through the nine books. The humour is just right. I sincerely hope this series runs for a little while longer.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stephen
  • Stephen
  • 06-16-22

Love love love Harry and co

David J Gatward just keeps delivering with each and every one of these books. I loved the way it incorporated Harry’s past so we got to learn a little more about what he did before moving to Hawes. As usual Aubrey does a fantastic job of bringing the characters to life each and every one of them. Each book tops the last for me and I wait with excited anticipation for the next in the series. 5*

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ann gayford
  • ann gayford
  • 06-08-22

gripping

loved it, have listened to the whole series and can't wait for next one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen Daley
  • Helen Daley
  • 06-06-22

Getting better and better

One of my favourites so far! Love the developments with Grimm’s personal life too! Now buying cake and cheese from Wensleydale!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-28-22

Best over in this series!

I've now heard all the Grimm books available and this is by far the best one. Don't get me wrong, I like all of them, but this one is more detailed and driven somehow, I really loved it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss
  • Miss
  • 05-17-22

Not one of your usual dales tales

All crime is evil but this last story had it in spades, but Harry and his team managed to deal with it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JPH
  • JPH
  • 05-14-22

Another Grimm Tale

Thoroughly enjoying these DCI Grimm stories. Brilliant thriller kept my attention throughout, edge of the seat stuff.
Grimm has a decision to make, and I hope its the right one. I can't wait for the next book.
Reccomended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kate
  • Kate
  • 05-04-22

Excellent

Yet another brilliant book by David J. Gatward. A perfect blend of tough violent action and comforting homely scenes of cake and cheese. And a refreshing change to have detectives who enjoy a mug of tea and not a pretentious cardboard cup of caffeine loaded, overpriced coffee, so heavily mentioned in most detective novels.
Aubrey Parsons, my favourite narrator, does a wonderful job of being the grumpy but lovable Harry Grimm, not to mention all the other varied characters. Well done Aubs!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-15-22

Loved this!

I can’t speak highly enough about this- I couldn’t stop listening to it. The narration was great.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-07-22

the best since the first and all are awesome

great story, narration love harry and team, they have a great dynamic and storylines..keep them coming

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 05-20-22

Least favourite in the series

I did not like this one. Lots of violence (even for a murder mystery) and I wasn't invested in the characters or outcome. Harry's gruffness just annoyed me.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-01-22

Book 9

I really enjoy Harry Grimm, and all of the characters in this series, I think a little restraint is needed regarding the rambling’s, they seemed extremely longer in this book.
I’m still looking forward to book 10 though and seriously hope that Harry will remain in Wensleydale.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bobbie P
  • Bobbie P
  • 04-20-22

Riveting and Suspenseful

From the first words until the end this is another great piece of work from Mr Gatward.
The story is intricate, with unexpected turns that leave you unable to guess the end.
As an audiobook it found me driving the long way round, and longer hours and miles than it should have been, but I couldn’t bare the thought of turning it off.
The depth of layers that are being developed with the characters has you caring for them, and anxious should anything happen to them.
Aubrey’s reading of this was superb and brings everyone to life to the point where I wish I were able to meet them and share some cheese and cake, and listen to Harry talk for hours.

Thank you Mr Gatward for such a brilliant experience shared with Grimm.