1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.17

Buy for $38.17

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

One small mistake. One deadly consequence.

Elodie Fray wants to be more like her perfect sister, Ada, the one her parents are actually proud of. When she decided to quit her job and pursue her dream of becoming an author, she thought it would be her time to shine, but a year on nothing has happened. And she's getting desperate. 

When Elodie makes one small mistake on a drunken night with a friend, things quickly spiral and suddenly everyone believes she has a book deal. Unable to find a way back from her little lie, her perfect dream becomes a perfect nightmare - and desperate times call for desperate measures.

Meanwhile, everything is not as it seems in Ada Archer's perfect life. When her sister suddenly disappears, she questions everything - from her marriage, to the man who's been charged with Elodie's abduction. The papers say it's him, but the more she digs into her sister's life, the less convinced she is. Ada will do anything to discover the truth, even if it kills her. 

No one knows what happened to Elodie Fray, and now her only chance of survival is her sister.

Perfect for fans of B A Paris, Louise Candlish and Erin Kelly.

©2021 Dandy Smith (P)2021 Bonnier Books UK

More from the same

What listeners say about One Small Mistake

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

I listen to a ton of books and this one was by far the most intriguing! It kept me wanting more!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The opposite of thrilling

Admittedly, I'm not a fan of the author's wordy writing style, which slows things down to snail pace. The storyline becomes increasingly far-fetched and downright silly as it progresses. Is this supposed to be black comedy? I'm amazed by the good reviews.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Giving up on this one ...

This is the second title in row I have quit middle of the book. I just don't care enough about any of the characters or the drama to spend another minute trying to finish.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twist and Turns

Intriguing storyline. Suspenseful yet liberating. Enjoyed this selection.
Kept me engaged throughout the entire reading.
Great narration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A captivating story

I really enjoyed this book. It was a "page turner" for me. Enjoy it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

After a few returned books and some horrible narration I finally found a book I enjoyed. Great narration and great book with plenty of twists and turns. Definitely worth the credit!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant. British. Bizarre. Brazen. Beguiling.

I do so enjoy my British audiobooks and this one is most definitely a new favorite in my Audible library. I did come across a grammatical error or two, though they took nothing away from the story. What starts out as “One Small Mistake” explodes into a complexellent and audictive plot. With realistically whimsical, devious and loving characters, author Dandy Smith interweaves a “close to my broken heart” storyline that grabbed me from the very beginning. Narrators Georgia Maguire and Daphne Kouma skillfully brings these unique characters to colorful and vivid life. A high-octane suspenseful thriller filled with surprises and jaw-dropping moments kept me wanting more. The bold talents of author and narrators shine through. Highly recommended? Indeed! At 12-plus hours, not a dull moment. So worth a cherished credit. I want more and I want it now! An awesome nod to Audible for making this available.

👏🍷⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️🍷👏

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mel
  • Mel
  • 12-02-21

One Small Mistake. One big story!

Absolutely binged this book! It tackles a lot of issues that are interesting and engaging. As a millennial woman I am forever getting the pressures from all angles about having a child so I feel seen and understood for choosing not to have one.
Heart racing, heart breaking and witty. I wasn't one for audio books but I have been converted. Well read by both narrators and I have downloaded more titles read by them.
Will definitely read/listen again!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dog Walker  Sussex
  • Dog Walker Sussex
  • 12-26-21

Gave up on this one

I fail to understand the rave reviews. It wasn't a bad story until the victim is in a windowless locked room and decides she must have her cat for company. Cat arrives in catcarrier , no litter , no cat food etc!. That was the point that it lost all credence and I gave up. I do wish that writers who introduce pets to their story should follow through and not just forget about the animals.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for annie234
  • annie234
  • 06-15-22

Great read

Enjoyed this book. Lots of twists. Great narration. Exciting in parts. Worth downloading this book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 01-01-22

Dark, Crazy and Unputdownable

I believe this is a debut novel so I didn't have any expectations, but this is a fabulous psychological thriller which genuinely deserves the description 'unputdownable'. Ok, the story is highly implausible and requirea a huge suspension of disbleief. But it is SO entertaining and had me enthralled from start to finish.

It is the story of two sisters and their unbreakable love for each other. Elodie is desperate to have her first book published and envies her sister Ada's 'perfect' life. The writing is wonderful and the characters are perfectly drawn. I started off feeling that Ada was shallow and unlikeable but as the book progressed I began to like her more and more. With each chapter the book gets crazier and darker until the shocking, dramatic conclusion.

I can't wait to see what Dandy Smith comes up with next!

Excellent narration by Georgia Maguire and Daphne Kouma.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Game chef
  • Game chef
  • 04-09-22

LOVE THE BOOK

Lived this book so much to it would 100% listen again. Good easy listen so captivating.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Catface
  • Catface
  • 03-07-22

Best I’ve listened to in a long time

I loved Dandy’s use of similes in this- I found the storyline kept me completely engaged and I could relate in some way to both female protagonists. I thought it was a totally original idea and fresh. Really enjoyed it and even offered to load the dishwasher more often so I could listen to it as I faffed about in the kitchen. Can’t wait for the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Georgina Shaw
  • Georgina Shaw
  • 12-09-21

Bold, brilliant & totally binge-worthy!

I really enjoyed listening to this, the story was captivating and so well written. Dandy is clearly born to write and has such a natural way with words. I found it to be a poignant reminder of many issues women face and really tackled these issues well.
The story was full of interesting characters, surprises & emotive language.
It was read well by both narrators and I really look forward to reading more by Dandy in the future.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-15-22

Two small mistakes

Could have been better. To slow to start and even slower to finish.
Although the story kept me listening I got fed up at the last few chapters that dragged out an already anticipated ending.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sam
  • sam
  • 07-27-22

Don’t bother..

Although the ratings suggest there are plenty of people who love this kind of book, but my god what terrible writing.. so many cliches.. managed about 90 minutes - hoping it might grow on me, but nope.. I couldn’t carry on..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 07-26-22

OMG!

I don’t say OMG! But OMG, (you can see I’m a wordsmith!). When I started this book I must admit I struggled, I don’t want sounds in my audiobook, not to brag about intellect, but I know what a cough sounds like.

I’m a life long reader, books are my most treasured possessions but unfortunately I’m unable to enjoy them anymore and to me, although I am so appreciative of them now, audiobooks, for me will always be inferior to the pleasure of holding and reading an actual book.

The reason I’m writing all of this is to illustrate that after the 1200+ I’ve listened to in the past 5 years, and being unable to say anything about the book for fear of spoilers, (which people should never do! Please!), I’ve listened to some dire book and some amazing books, this was amazing. Definitely, in my top 10 ever.

The writing, the actual story and the narration are seamlessly excellent, thank you.

We all have different tastes and I love that, feel free to feel differently about the book.