• One in the Hand

  • An EMP Post-Apocalyptic Survival Series (The Crusader, Book 3)
  • By: Tom Abrahams
  • Narrated by: Kevin Pierce
  • Length: 8 hrs and 20 mins
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (283 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

John Beck is a man possessed. But can he right the wrongs without succumbing to his own demons?

After barely surviving his wounds, the legendary John Beck is at the mercy of others. Will he listen to their counsel, or will he defy their wishes and again set out on a fool's errand? It's a mission that could just as easily undo the good he's done as it might redeem him once and for all in an unforgiving world where the real power lies with those who take it from those not strong enough to hold on.

One in the Hand is book three in the Crusader EMP Post-Apocalyptic series and is perfect for fans of Kyla Stone, Franklin Horton, AR Shaw, Ryan Schow, and Jack Hunt.

©2022 Piton Press LLC (P)2022 Piton Press LLC

What listeners say about One in the Hand

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    253
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    257
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    237
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Attention caught

I loved The Traveler series and this one is just as intriguing. And Pierce is perfect, again! Not going to lie I search out books that are narrated by him, so Tom Abrahams keep him employed for your awesome books!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AWESOME

Loved it! 💜 Kevin Pierce nailed it as always. Can't wait for the next one!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic writing and delivery. Trust me… just buy and listen

Awesome story and well written. Tom Abrams does a great job, Kevin Piece kills it and this series is entertaining and worth the read/listen!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gritty And Awesome

Going into what I believe is my 32nd book from Tom Abrahams. I have a pretty good idea as to how a book is going to play out. But, every time I think that he’s able to come in and surprise me. Now, this is unmatched to my surprise in No Good Deed – that one genuinely caught me way off guard. But it was still close. This time in smaller moments throughout the book.

I applaud Abrahams. I just read the synopsis and there are no spoilers to the other two books – it’s pretty generic to the story that you get – but he didn’t give away the big secret/reveal in book two either. So, that means I’m going to have to try to do the same.

In this book, Beck is trying to survive while figuring out how to save more people – this time it’s his friends. One in the Hand jumps back and forth between the posse that he traveled with before and his current circumstances. Each point of view was interesting since the one was of the antagonist of the story (through conversations with his captors) and the other was Beck and his new friends as they traveled to try and save his old friends (sorry for the vagueness – trying not to give anything away – though I think I still did).

Learning about Mr “Am I Right?” – aka Leo – was interesting. We learn what he did before D-Day and how he got to be where he was. We also learn of his backstory and what made him into the tyrant of a man that he is today. All of these backstories made hating him even easier. I thought Abrahams did a great job making him feel human but still making him evil enough that you wanted to bash his face, especially those white teeth, in.

There was a scene in the book that reminded me a lot of a scene from the movie The Book of Eli. I won’t go into what scene – but those who have read this book and have watched that movie will probably know what I’m talking about. It wasn’t the same but it was similar and I had the exact same feeling of unease throughout it.

I tend to go on and on about these books because I enjoy them so much, but there were a few things that hinted at where this series or story could go along with spinoffs if Abrahams wants. I know he did that a bit with The Traveler series and I wouldn’t be mad if he did it again here. There were enough characters backstories and “real” feeling people that I would like to know what makes them tick.

Overall, another phenomenal Tom Abrahams book that had me staying up way past my bedtime to finish. I think it took me 2-3 sittings to finish this book – I just had to know what was going to happen next. Oh, and the finale of this book might be one of the most satisfying endings to any Abrahams book yet. It wasn’t tied up with a pretty little bow, but for a gritty series like this – it was darn close.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must read!!!

John Beck is amazing!! Can't wait for Book 4!!!!!! I really connected with the characters &story

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent reading

Another perfect book by Tom on this series. I can't wait to hear the fourth book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!!

Thank you so much for the great series! I love how you made the female characters very bada$$! Can’t wait to start a new series! The narrator is great too! Thank you again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, great book, great narrator, keeps you

Great story, great book, great narrator, keeps you going. Cant wait for more. I will be looking for more

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

this was a great read

I loved this series it falls in line with the rest of his books as informational entertaining and Kevin Pierce does an awesome job narrating

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesomeness in every chapter!

Tom Abrahams is a true artist and Kevin Pierce's narrations never ever let me down! I could feel or imagine each character in my head. And when the narrator and the author can make you laugh, cry, or have any range of emotion in a storyline, that will secure 5 stars from me each and every time!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shaun52
  • Shaun52
  • 07-19-22

Tom Abrahams does it again.

I can't believe why Tom Abrahams isn't more popular in the UK.
This is the third book in this series of The crusader and it's just as good as the first two.
Kevin Pierce's narration holds you like a vice and doesn't let you go..
I have now got the 4th in the series to look forward to and if it's as good as the three previous I'm in for a treat.
Whatever Tom writes I read/listen to, I just like the way he writes.
The traveller series, along with Mountain is my favourite series.
So all you UK readers/listeners out there do yourself a favour and get some of Toms's books, you won't regret it.

.