1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Other People's Things  By  cover art

Other People's Things

By: Kerry Anne King
Narrated by: Teri Clark Linden
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $30.09

Buy for $30.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the Amazon Charts bestselling author of Whisper Me This comes a witty, magical story about improbable connections, difficult gifts, and the unexpected events that heal us and bring us together.

Jailbird. Klepto. Spectacular failure to launch. Nicole Wood’s sticky fingers have earned her many names, but it’s not that she’s stealing—some objects just need to be moved elsewhere, and the universe has chosen her to do it. Still, being a relocator of objects isn’t easy. With her marriage on the rocks, no real-world skills, and the threat of prison hanging over her head, Nicole is determined to change her ways.

Things seem to be looking up, thanks to a godsent job with her sister’s housecleaning business—until she encounters a seemingly harmless paperback that insists on moving from one client’s home to another’s. Nicole hopes no one will notice, but the action stirs up long-hidden secrets and triggers a series of fateful events that threatens to destroy the life she’s creating and hurt those closest to her. She’ll need to embrace her unwieldy gift and take a chance on love in order to unravel the mystery and fix what’s gone wrong.

©2021 by Kerry Anne King. (P)2021 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

“Fans of Nicole Baart’s Little Broken Things and Janelle Brown’s Pretty Things will appreciate King’s razor-sharp voice.” Booklist

Other People’s Things is a mesmerizing novel with an unforgettable, indomitable heroine. Kerry Anne King is at the top of her game, weaving humor and magic and reality into a story that shines with surprise.” —Maddie Dawson, Washington Post bestselling author of Matchmaking for Beginners 

“Woven with suspense, family drama, magic, and just the right touch of romance, Other People’s Things is an utterly compulsive read. With a compelling cast of characters and a delightfully imaginative plot, readers are taken on a journey of self-discovery as a young woman struggles to embrace her unique gifts and find her place in a world that has already made up its mind about her. King’s emotionally honest storytelling and wonderfully flawed protagonist remind us that people aren’t always who we think they are—and that some curses might actually be blessings in disguise.” —Barbara Davis, bestselling author of The Last of the Moon Girls 

What listeners say about Other People's Things

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    482
  • 4 Stars
    273
  • 3 Stars
    79
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    414
  • 4 Stars
    227
  • 3 Stars
    93
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    12
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    460
  • 4 Stars
    224
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this!

This isn't my usual genre; I tend to stick with thrillers and fantasy. Something about this book drew me in. And it must be pretty special, because though not my typical read, it grabbed my attention from the very beginning and held on tight until the end.

The MC has a compulsion to move certain objects which other people consider stealing. It's not though. Those objects need to be moved and she literally cannot help herself without negative consequences. Needless to say, it puts a strain on her relationships and gives her a criminal record.

When she moves something that belongs to a bad man, things get very complicated for her. And we get a story containing some action, romance, mystery, redemption, a tiny bit of supernatural abilities, and family drama. The pacing was PERFECT with events, character development and plot points unfolding throughout the book.

I switched back and forth between reading and listening, but listened to the majority of the book. The audio was fabulous - I do not think they could have picked a better person to play the main character (well, all the characters lol).

I am so happy I had the opportunity to read/ listen to this book! I'm crossing my fingers for a sequel and if so, that the same narrator is available.

Great job ladies! 👏😁🥰



Published 9-21-21
Lake Union Publishing
Brilliance Audio

38 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

Very quirky and original. I was hesitant when I first started listening but the characters drew me in. Each chapter was told through the eyes of one of the characters so I made sure to note who it was as the narrator sounded the same with some of the characters. Even though there were some tough subjects dealt with in the book it still remained lighthearted.

31 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very sweet story

I really enjoyed the quirky lovable characters and the weaving of each character’s storylines into one. My only complaint is with the narration. The story would have been so much more poignant with 3 different narrators. The narrator was perfect for Andrea’s character, but all wrong for Nicole and Hawk. Nicole should have had a younger less polished voice, and Hawk should have been narrated by a man with a deep gruff voice. The narrator read Hawk’s chapters in her regular female voice, and I have to admit that originally I thought Hawk was a large -sized lesbian woman! 🤣

25 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A love/hate book

This book took me on an emotional journey! The first few chapters I couldn't help but dislike nearly everyone. It was a bit rough, but my bestie recommended it to me and she always has a good reason for recommending me books. 'Cause of that I ended up toughing it out and I am so glad I did because once it hit a certain point I laughed and cried and cheered and was just so invested in the story.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Audio Production Problems

Story was great, and the narrator is good at performing, but the audio editing is horrible. There's poor matching of pitch, tone, and/or speed on the retakes, so at times it sounds like a different narrator jumps in for one sentence. Even the volume isn't always leveled between clips. Unfortunately distracting.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • EH
  • 01-17-22

Maybe read it in hard copy

I enjoyed the story very much and it wasn't super predictable. However, intro to Hawk character led me at first to believe the character was female, dropping my performance rating. Also there were several really bad and obvious editing splices in the audio which made me cringe. Think I might have preferred hard copy in this case. First audio book after several years and hundreds of titles that I would hesitate to recommend in this format.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Story was good, narration could have been better

I really enjoyed the audiobook but wish the narrator had used different voices for each character. It was a little bit difficult, especially in the beginning, to keep track of which character was speaking, since everything was written in first-person. It seemed like the narrator was simply reading as opposed to acting out each character’s part.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Terrible Narration

The narrator sounded like a woman on an automated system most of the time. Over enunciation drove me crazy. I would have stopped but I needed to listen to it for a book club and I didn't have time to read the physical book. There was also frequent times where they must have gone back and re-recorded and dubbed over certain spots and it sounded awful and obviously added in. The story was very good and the first half of the book was excellent. The last quarter to third of the book was a little much. It was all wrapped up a little too neat and tidy and how stupid her family was for not realizing how abusive her husband was, incredibly unbelievable. Mothers know everything and her mother seemed to know nothing.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Win-win for author and narrator

This is my favorite book by this author, Kerry Anne King, and I’ve liked the others I read a lot. This one touched me and I fell for this character; I adored Nickle-Nicole. I am so hoping she appears again. Please. And the narrator, Teri Clark Linden voiced her and her other characters perfectly. The storyline kept me hooked the whole way through! Must read/listen novel.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entertaining

I found the story to be entertaining. I’m not sure how believable but it was a fun listen and had me thinking about the possibilities.

5 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mere
  • Mere
  • 05-22-22

Easy listen

A story of someone who is misunderstood and a heart-warming tale of serendipity and the colliding of seemingly unrelated lives.