1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From Jason June, author of the breakout teen debut novel Jay’s Gay Agenda, comes Out of the Blue, a stand-alone dual POV queer rom-com that asks if love is enough to change everything you’ve grown up believing. Perfect for fans of Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas and Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly. 

Crest is not excited to be on their Journey: the month-long sojourn on land all teen merfolk must undergo. The rules are simple: Help a human within one moon cycle and return to Pacifica to become an Elder—or fail and remain stuck on land forever. Crest is eager to get their Journey over and done with. Humans are disgusting. They’ve polluted the planet so much that there’s a floating island of trash that’s literally the size of a country.

In Los Angeles with a human body and a new name, Crest meets Sean, a human lifeguard whose boyfriend has recently dumped him. Crest agrees to help Sean make his ex jealous and win him back. But as the two spend more time together, and Crest’s perspective on humans begins to change, they’ll soon be torn between two worlds. And fake dating just might lead to real feelings....

This sophomore novel from Jason June dives into the many definitions of the word home and shows how love can help us find the truest versions of ourselves. 

©2022 Jason June (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Out of the Blue

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent LGBT Young Adult Novel

I’m a middle school English teacher and in the LGBT community. Having listened to this novel, I felt a strong connection to these characters and the story. This novel is best listened to so one can truly understand the characters through their voices.

The narrators did a superb job of creating Sean, Crest/Ross, Khavia, and all the other denizens of this novel.

Jason June wrote an excellent young adult novel for LGBT youth.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Woke nonsense.

I was going to deal with the 50 they/them’s thrown at me in just the first couple chapters because I thought the story arc was going to be a good one. But when we got to the “gender presenting” nonsense trying to say that people who know what species and gender they are is somehow wrong that was it for me. This is just more propaganda for children’s indoctrinations.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bittersweet and Longing

This story absolutely wrecked me. If you like poignant coming of age stories with ALL the feels, this is definitely one to read. My only warning: This is no fairytale.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrators we're fin-tastic

This started off so strong. I liked the main characters, the premise was interesting and I liked the movie references. However, Sean's obsession with his ex got old real fast, and how everyone fixated on Sean's thighs was weird. I also felt like how Ross acted toward the end of the book didn't really match his character (petty, jealous, possessive).

I love how Sean and Ross/Crest checked in with each other and got consent. The diversity in the book was great. Points for touching on some mental health issues.

The narrators were the highlight of this book. Both did an amazing job bringing the characters to life and they matched each other well, especially for a dual narration. I could listen to André Santana all day!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

not it for me

I was incredibly excited for this queer mermaid fantasy / romcom summer read. It sounded like it would hit everything on my wishlist! I'm doing a queer reading challenge for Pride month and a romcom summer reading challenge. I've also challenged myself to read more diverse books this year, so a gender non conforming mermaid was DEF on the top of my list. So I bumped it to the top of my list and started it right away, with an audible credit.

Unfortunately, this book was not for me. There was plenty of LGBTQIA+ rep, with the vast majority of the cast falling somewhere under that umbrella. That was great! However, the merfolk not using gender terms and not having genders was brought up too much for my taste - instead of feeling inclusive, it felt like it was trying too hard and drawing way too much attention to the gender stuff.

I also didn't really feel any chemistry between Crest / Ross and Sean. There's a lot of physical attraction but its played as love, and it just didn't hit right for me. Also the cheating trope comes up more than I would like. I wish I had known ahead of time about that, cuz it's one of my least favorite tropes.

Overall, I thought it was a great concept. But it didn't hit the emotional highs I was looking for and I didn't connect with the characters as much as I hoped I would. I'm sure it's someone else's ideal, though, do hopefully those readers find it!