• Paint the Dead

  • Ellie Reckless Crime Thrillers, Book 1
  • By: Jack Gatland
  • Narrated by: Gill Mills
  • Length: 7 hrs and 56 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Paint the Dead  By  cover art

Paint the Dead

By: Jack Gatland
Narrated by: Gill Mills
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Some cases need more than the police....

Meet disgraced ex-DI Ellie Reckless, a self-proclaimed "cop for criminals", and the person the underworld calls when they can't call the police. 

Working for favors, freely given at a time and place of her choosing, Ellie and her team of fallen angels work the cases the police never see—while Ellie builds enough favors to discover who in the force framed her for murder, who ordered it, and who really killed the man she loved. 

And when Essex Gangster Danny Flynn comes to her with a case involving art forgeries, dead bodies, and a painting stolen during the 1990 Gardner Museum Heist in Boston, Ellie realizes this could be the favor that gives her everything she needs to clear her name. 

As long as she, her team, and the client can survive until she solves it, that is....

The first book in a new series of procedural crime thrillers by number-one New York Times best-selling writer Tony Lee writing as Jack Gatland, and spinning out of his best-selling DI Declan Walsh book series, Paint the Dead is perfect for fans of J.D Kirk, L.J Ross, Ian Rankin, Alex Smith, David Gatward, Rachel McLean, and Ann Cleeves, among others.

©2022 Hooded Man Media (P)2022 Hooded Man Media

What listeners say about Paint the Dead

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Something new!

kudos! Great characters, lotsa personality, above avg intelligence all wrapped up in a believable-heroine on the wrong side but doing good. Absolutely loved every minute. JG is a great storyteller & this did not disappoint.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lee Wallace
  • Lee Wallace
  • 08-02-22

Not Bad

Not a bad story. I liked the narrator. The story flowed as with Jack Gatland stories a lot of characters that does get a little confusing.