• Pignon Scorbion & the Barbershop Detectives

  • The Pignon Scorbion Series, Book 1
  • By: Rick Bleiweiss
  • Narrated by: Christopher Toyne
  • Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars (99 ratings)

Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.47

Buy for $24.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Sherlock Holmes and Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot, author Rick Bleiweiss’ quirky new detective and ensemble cast of characters set against the backdrop of small-town England in the 1910s will feel both comfortingly familiar and thrillingly new.

The year is 1910, and in the small and seemingly sleepy English municipality of Haxford, there’s a new chief police inspector. At first, the dapper and unflappable Pignon Scorbion strikes something of an odd figure among the locals, who don’t see a need for such an exacting investigator. But it isn’t long before Haxford finds itself very much in need of a detective.

Luckily, Scorbion and the local barber are old acquaintances, and the barbershop employs a cast of memorable characters who - together with an aspiring young ace reporter for the local Morning News - are nothing less than enthralled by the enigmatic new chief police inspector. 

Investigating a trio of crimes whose origins span three continents and half a century, Pignon Scorbion and his “tonsorial sleuths” interview a parade of interested parties, but with every apparent clue, new surprises come to light. And just as it seems nothing can derail Scorbion’s cool head and almost unerring nose for deduction, in walks Thelma Smith - dazzling, whip-smart, and newly single. 

Has Pignon Scorbion finally met his match? 

©2022 Rick Bleiweiss (P)2022 Blackstone Publishing

Critic Reviews

PNBA BuzzBooks

Publishers Weekly pick

More from the same

What listeners say about Pignon Scorbion & the Barbershop Detectives

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    16
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Different and Entertaining

I look forward to following this series. The set up is different with the use of a barber shop and a crew for questioning. I applaud the author for finding a way to make his books just a wee bit different. Definitely worth a credit to give it a try. The narration was good, no random shouting, and there seemed to be a bit of humor. As a point of reference, I love Dorothy Sayers, Ngaio Marsh, John Bude from the Golden Age.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Trite repetive and poorly read

This seemed to be the same story over and over and the readers voices childish

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Terrible narator

This narrator was terribly distracting to listen to because he pauses every three words whether a pause is warranted or not. This distracted from the story so much as to make it almost impossible to follow.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I liked it

I purchased this book before there were any audible reviews. I am not disappointed, but do not understand the really negative reviews given to the narrator. I am on my way to two thousand aubible books in my library. I have heard some really bad readings, Christopher Toyne is not a bad narrator. I can understand different tastes, etc, but truly he suited this book just fine. The next book needs to improve as it is slow on the take. I felt there was too much redundancy in the story telling, and it was a great stretch of the imagination to believe it. But the premise is new and interesting, so there is hope, and often the first book is not the best.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars

I should have read the reviews!

Horrible, horrible narrator! Can't even finish first chapter! So, I can't rate or review the story.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good story, bad narrator

I really loved the plot and main character but the narrator has such an odd cadence it was hard to listen too. He pauses in predictable places in each sentence, regardless if it makes sense to the dialogue. It was very distracting.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don’t bother.

Absolutely terrible! The fake accent was stupid. Could not follow the ridiculous plot. Was spending too much time figuring out what the reader was saying. Sounded like a three year old trying to read a book.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Terrible Narration

The narrator’s style is so clipped that I couldn’t even finish listening to the first chapter. He’s also difficult to understand in some parts. Disappointing because I was hoping this would become a new favorite series.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not Sherlock

The narrator was difficult to understand in many sections. The book was repetitive and became tedious. Many ideas were good but overwritten.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars

bad narration

I could not listen to more than 2 chapters with this ludicrous narration that made the main character seem creepy and arrogant

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs D
  • Mrs D
  • 06-22-22

Narrator’s vocal gymnastics are interesting…

The stories inside the main storyline are quite good and the characters in the book are essential to the plot… but the vocalisations are really quite off putting… so many characters and so many different dialects! Not all women speak in a slow clipped manner for example, and the narrator’s impression is just so funny… Anyway, please judge for yourself.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss A.
  • Miss A.
  • 06-14-22

Hard work

The narrators voice for the main character was ridiculous, painfully slow with an almost sighing internation. couldn't change speed on it as other characters would incoherent.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 05-31-22

lovely

A wonderfully sweet and unique tale. The narrator is perfect for it. I look forward to the second in the series !