1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Plot Twist  By  cover art

Plot Twist

By: Bethany Turner
Narrated by: Talon David
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An aspiring screenwriter has a chance encounter with an actor who could be the man of her dreams. Over the next 10 years, she’ll write the story...but will he end up being the star?

February 4, 2003, promises to be a typical day for Olivia Ross - a greeting card writer whose passion project is a screenplay of her own. But after she and a handsome actor have a magical meet-cute in a coffee shop, they make a spontaneous pact: in 10 years, after they’ve found the success they’re just sure they’re going to achieve, they’ll return to the coffeehouse to partner up and make a film together. The only problem? Olivia neglected to get the stranger’s name. But she doesn’t forget his face - or the date.

For the next ten years, every February 4 is marked with coincidences and ironies for Olivia. As men come and go and return to her life, she continues to write, but still wonders about the guy from the coffee shop - the nameless actor she’s almost certain has turned out to be Hamish MacDougal, now a famous A-lister and Hollywood leading man.

But a lot can happen in 10 years, and while waiting for the curtain to rise on her fate, the true story of Olivia’s life is being written - and if she’s not careful, she’ll completely miss the real-life romantic comedy playing out right before her eyes.

Praise for Plot Twist:

Plot Twist gave my rom-com loving heart everything it could hope for.... Perfect for anyone who loves love or dreams about meeting George Clooney.” (Kerry Winfrey, author of Waiting for Tom Hanks)

“Funny, clever, and sweet, Plot Twist reminds us that sometimes love doesn’t look just like the movies—and that it can be so, so much better than we ever dreamed.” (Melissa Ferguson, bestselling author of The Cul-de-Sac War)

“Bethany Turner just keeps getting better! Plot Twist is like experiencing the best parts of all my favorite rom-coms, tied together with Turner’s pitch-perfect comedic timing, an achingly sweet ‘will they or won’t they?’ romance, and the BFF relationship most girls dream of.” (Carla Laureano, RITA Award–winning author of The Saturday Night Supper Club and Provenance)

  • Sweet and playful contemporary rom-com
  • Full-length, stand-alone novel (approx. 86,000 words)
  • Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Katherine Reay
©2021 Bethany Turner (P)2021 Thomas Nelson

What listeners say about Plot Twist

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Eeeeeekkkkk

When I finish a 7+ hour book in ONE day, you know it’s soooo good!!!! Can’t stop, won’t stop! Love the characters and wish it didn’t end!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

you wont want to stop

so good... a constant smile on your face and blushing... a definite good read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good clean book

great writing, clean, and entertaining! I would recommend this to anyone who likes a good hallmark movie!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cute and quick

This was a really enjoyable listen! I finished in one day. It's got all of the normal chick lit content with, wait for it, plot twists! Good if your looking for a light easy read.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good but aggravating

This is the first Bethany Turner book I have listened to and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The main character did make me want to shake some sense into her, but when a book can pull a reaction from you, that’s a good thing.
I am excited to listen to some of her other works!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Starts silly, ends happy

The main character first comes off as a "pick me" girl, but develops well throughout the book to a leading lady we can all be proud of. The perfect summer read to make your heart happy.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

boring cheesy and trite

I'm not sure how this got so many reviews that are positive. I found it very boring and super cheesy. the writing was so bad that it was impossible to keep going. stopped it about two chapters in not worth your time!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant book

This book was so creative and satisfying. The creativity with which she love this story together , as well as the humor, made it the most enjoyable book I've read in awhile. The frustration I felt from these characters was delectable. Beautiful ending.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

compelling and unique romcom

an interesting twist on the contemporary romcom. I found the characters relatable and enjoyable. the time skips could be a bit confusing at times in the audio format but otherwise I really enjoyed it.

I loved the twist at the end, though I could have done without the lay few min (who she winds up with).

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A dedicated decade

This was an entertaining and emotionally fun book. I felt for her throughout the whole book. I felt for Liam throughout the whole book. Lots of plot twists. Some you could see, some you couldn’t. I hope to see Pheona with her own book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah
  • Sarah
  • 09-02-21

Disappointing

I loved the premise for this book, but was disappointed with a fairly boring repetitive storyline. What started out as cute and interesting, eventually became boring as the female lead kept doing the same thing over and over again. I couldn’t finish it and was yawning part way through. Not recommended.