1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $37.64

Buy for $37.64

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From Julie Murphy, the New York Times best-selling author of Dumplin' and Side Effects May Vary, comes another fearless heroine, Ramona Blue, in a gorgeously evocative novel about family, friendship, and how sometimes love can be more fluid than you first think. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Morgan Matson.

Ramona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever.

Since then it's been Ramona and her family against the world. Standing over six feet tall, with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona is sure of three things: She likes girls, she's fiercely devoted to her family, and she knows she's destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi. But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, responsibility weighs more heavily than ever.

The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona's friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he's talked her into joining him for laps at the pool. But as Ramona falls in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift, too, which is the last thing she expected. With her growing affection for Freddie making her question her sexual identity, Ramona begins to wonder if perhaps she likes girls and guys or if this new attraction is just a fluke. Either way, Ramona will discover that for her, life and love are more fluid than they seem.

©2017 Julie Murphy (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Ramona Blue

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Where was this book ten years ago?

Easily one of the best stories to be told in a long time. I found myself in this narrative over and over again. A must read for anyone who just needs to find them self.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Okay story, narration is so-so

I liked this book overall, it just didn't grip me. Ramona is a decent main character, I liked her blue hair and that she wasn't afraid to be out to her family, friends, or small town. She just did her own thing and that's pretty cool. Going through an identity crisis is hard, especially when you've come to terms with who you are and that notion gets flipped upside down. Ramona and Freddie were cute together, but she held back because she wasn't sure what she wanted and put other's needs ahead of her own. I was glad to see her grow and believe in herself.
The main issue I had was pacing. There were fun parts where I was engaged, but then it slowed down and I got bored. The narrator wasn't that great either, so maybe I would've liked it more if I read it.

The LGBTQ theme was great and I liked the point of sexuality being fluid and that it's okay to not be sure of who you are or what you want.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Okay

This one had it's moments but I can't say it will be one of my more memorable reads.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 09-15-20

Hit Home

I struggled with Ramona Blue at the start and took awhile for me to finish about nilly a year or two. I think I wasn't in the headspace for this story and then I was surprised, when I did pick it up again. It really hit home for me.

I actually gave it a chance and really listened to it. This book had emotions, mixed of confusion for ones identity, struggling with family, relationships and having your whole world pressing down on your shoulders with all the burdens of responsibilities that you have no control over.

It's okay to let go and change into a better version of yourself and the relationships around you to grow into something new or even to let go. This is a beautiful story and it was a shame that it took me awhile to read.