1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this fast-paced dystopian thrill ride from New York Times best-selling author Amy Tintera, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Legend, and Divergent, a 17-year-old girl returns from death as a Reboot and is trained as an elite crime-fighting soldier... until she is given an order she refuses to obey.

Wren Connolly died five years ago, only to Reboot after 178 minutes. Now she is one of the deadliest Reboots around...unlike her newest trainee, Callum 22, who is practically still human. As Wren tries to teach Callum how to be a soldier, his hopeful smile works its way past her defenses. Unfortunately, Callum’s big heart also makes him a liability, and Wren is ordered to eliminate him. To save Callum, Wren will have to risk it all. 

Wren’s captivating voice and unlikely romance with Callum will keep listeners glued to the page in Amy Tintera’s high-stakes alternate reality, and diving straight into its action-packed sequel, Rebel. 

Don’t miss Amy Tintera’s new fantasy series, Ruined - full of epic stakes, sweeping romance, hidden identities, and scheming siblings.  

©2013 Amy Tintera (P)2013 HarperCollinsPublishers

What listeners say about Reboot

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    111
  • 4 Stars
    91
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    78
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    91
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Weak characterization unmakes the story.

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

I wouldn't recommend this book. The characters behave in odd and illogical ways even within the context of the story. This really holds the story back which otherwise has an interesting premise.

What about Khristine Hvam’s performance did you like?

Very good differentiation of characters.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heart-racing, action packed - I'm ready for more!

My first thought after finishing this book (in one sitting): WHAT JUST HAPPENED?

Unlike anything I’ve read in the past few months, Reboot was so gripping and thrilling that I was unable to put it down until it was done. I found myself flying through the pages, racing to the end and at the same time, not wanting it to end. I mean, just – WOW.

In post-apocalyptic Texas (every other state in America was destroyed due to a virus), reboots are teenagers who come back to life after dying and are then given to the government as bounty hunters except the reboots don’t actually get anything out of it. Ugh, can you imagine following every single order, always listening to someone else, never getting what you want to do – especially as a teenager? Yuck!

What I thought most about during this book (and what frustrated me) was how these reboots are treated so..inhumanly – not only by the government, but by their [former] families. Not an ounce of pity or kindness was given to these teens. Supposedly these reboots don’t feel any emotion, but do you think they act emotionless because of their situation or because that’s how they really are? I mean, if I was treated poorly and like an animal, I would probably just act emotionless out of a survival/defense mechanism.

Which brings me to Callum, sweet Callum. A 22, and such a endearing boy. From the very first scene, I was drawn to his sweet disposition. Every scene with him is filled with this tension – you want to protect him, you want him to grow, you want him to kick butt even though you know he’s a 22. For some reason, he reminded me a lot of Four from Divergent by Veronica Roth. I think it was their kind hearts and adoration they held for their girls.

Reboot is one that fans of Divergent are going to want to pick up for sure. It’s heart-racing, action packed, and had me begging for more.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Chick flick for the ears

Definitely a YA novel. Light enjoyable listen. Don't think too hard about the concept of "re-booting". You will just hurt your head. Suspend your disbelief and go along for the ride. I will listen to the next one in the series. This is like "ear candy" lol. Don't expect vitamins or substance and you will be entertained.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Maybe a boy would like this gory book?

This was way too much fight/kill/shoot/beat the crap out of for me. Maybe a guy would enjoy it more? I found myself bored through the story. It took me about 3 weeks to finally finish. I liked the idea of the book but it never seemed to draw me in. Not girly enough I guess.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it

I’ve loved this book for years reading it in school buying my own physical copy and now the audio book book 2 is worth the money too

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book! Must read!

I'm not sure why this book isn't more popular the whole story was fantastic I definitely recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

really enjoyed it

I liked it, I just wished it wasn't as romantic, and was more action packed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Glued to it from the start

I loved the way Wren had to learn what the feelings she felt on the inside were called.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it!

cannot wait to read the next book. finished this one in a day via audible

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good story good action

good story good action the narration of the. book was excellent love this kind of book

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lex
  • Lex
  • 12-23-18

not bad but not for me

the story reminded me much of Partials, by Dan Wells. Same theme with humans and not-so-humans trying to survive in a distopian future. But this was much heavier on the romance and that's not my thing. The writing is ok but some of the critical elements were glossed over a bit. the voice acting is good and I'll be looking for more of Hvam.