1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.09

Buy for $25.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Candace Bushnell, the number one New York Times best-selling author of Sex and the City, and Katie Cotugno, New York Times best-selling author of 99 Days, team up to write a fierce, propulsive novel about a girl who is preyed upon by a manipulative teacher and finds the power to fight back. Perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Laurie Halse Anderson.

It starts before you can even remember: You learn the rules for being a girl....

Marin has always been good at navigating these unspoken guidelines. A star student and editor of the school paper, she dreams of getting into Brown University. Marin’s future seems bright - and her young, charismatic English teacher, Mr. Beckett, is always quick to admire her writing and talk books with her.

But when “Bex” takes things too far and comes on to Marin, she’s shocked and horrified. Had she somehow led him on? Was it her fault?

When Marin works up the courage to tell the administration what happened, no one believes her. She’s forced to face Bex in class every day. Except now, he has an ax to grind.

But Marin isn’t about to back down. She uses the school newspaper to fight back, and she starts a feminist book club at school. She finds allies - and even romance - in the most unexpected people, like Gray Kendall, who she’d always dismissed as just another lacrosse bro.

As things heat up at school and in her personal life, Marin must figure out how to take back the power and write her own rules.

©2020 Candace Bushnell and Katie Cotugno (P)2020 Balzer + Bray

Featured Article: Sex and the City—Books vs. Show


It might be time to have a bit of a Sex and the City refresher before diving back into the fabulous, fun, flirty, and hilarious world of Carrie Bradshaw and her friends. You might know that Sex and the City is based loosely on the book of the same name by Candace Bushnell. But just how loosely based are we talking? If you listened to the Sex and the City audiobook, would you even recognize Carrie, Miranda, Charlotte, and Samantha? Or would you be getting an entirely different story? Read on for our guide to the differences between the Sex and the City book and the show to find out.

What listeners say about Rules for Being a Girl

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!

I read this whole book in one sitting. All the plot twists kept me wanting to keep reading. This would be a very good book for people struggle to get into books....Candace Bushnell & Katie Cotugno good job.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Heavy handed, but good

When Marin’s favorite teacher kisses her, she struggles whether to stay quiet or turn him in. Telling her principal doesn’t go as expected, resulting in Marin treated as the perp, and her teacher the victim.

RULES FOR BEING A GIRL is a compulsively readable story that never lets you forget its a Big Issue Book. I adored Marin, smart, strong and with good sense. Though victimized, she was never a victim. She doesn’t want others fighting her battles.

RULES FOR BEING A GIRL is more realistic than most books on sexual harassment and abuse because it shows the backlash survivors sometimes receive after coming forward, not just bullying, but consequences that impact the future. We all want to believe that reporting will lead to the perpetrator suffering appropriate consequences, but in the real world sometimes victims suffer more. Like Marin, that’s also my story.

I would have rated RULES FOR BEING A GIRL five stars if not for the heavy handed feminism lessons. Although I agree with and loved the message, I wish it had been given more subtly so that it flowed better than the story. Instead I felt like the book was saying “we interrupt this story to bring you an important message about feminism.”

RULES FOR BEING A GIRL is an important book about doing the right thing, even when it doesn’t turn out perfectly.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Only okay

This was a really cool idea and it could have really said something but sadly it was just very shallow.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

I don’t know any women that don’t know the “rules” or who don’t have some variation of this story in their own experiences. Expertly narrated and very well written.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Coming of age story

At first I wanted to stop reading when I realized the main character was a high school girl but kept going anyway. Great story & one all young girls should read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Pretty Bad

I honestly was not impressed by this book. I love Candace Bushnell. I’ve read all of her books and this one was predictable and lacked depth. The story line maybe would be more believable in college, although could happen, there are many stories that have this similar plot.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story

Really enjoyed this! A wee slow start then bam excellent story!
Speak up and be heard

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

'Rules for an Excellent YA Book'

This story is really well written by the authors and remarkably narrated by Julia Whelan who's one of my absolute fav narrators.

She's a great narrator and the perfect combination of a very good story and her interpretation with her talented narration made this book and this story just perfect!

I recommend reading this book 100% !

.