• Scorpion Mountain

  • Brotherband Chronicles, Book 5
  • By: John Flanagan
  • Narrated by: John Keating
  • Length: 12 hrs and 54 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (1,250 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $42.00

Buy for $42.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From John Flanagan, author of the worldwide best-selling Ranger's Apprentice - an all-new adventure featuring the Brotherband crew and one of our favorite Rangers!

Fresh off of victory over their longtime nemesis, Tursgud, Hal and the Herons, summoned by King Duncan, set sail for Castle Araluen. Thrust into the dangerous world of Araluen, the Herons learn of a threat to Queen Evanlyn and whispers of a deadly sect known as the Scorpion Cult. Rumors say that Iqbal, who previously tried to assassinate Evanlyn at her wedding to Horace, might be planning another attempt. Not waiting to see if the knife will strike true, the Herons join forces with Gilan and his fellow Rangers to track down the would-be assassins.

In this fifth book in the Brotherband Chronicles, old friends re-emerge to take on new enemies as the worlds of Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband join forces! Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2014 John A. Flanagan (P)2014 Penguin Audio

What listeners say about Scorpion Mountain

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,076
  • 4 Stars
    155
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,007
  • 4 Stars
    106
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    974
  • 4 Stars
    134
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

still good

author always finds a way to change the story up a bit but it is starting to get pretty predictable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story, but please respect your readers

Honestly, I do like this series and this book, but this author is becoming annoyingly repetitive, to the point of insult. He always spells out a reference to a past event, as though we cannot remember, or didn't read the prequels, or the original series Ranger's Apprentice (from which this series flows). To me, it feels condescending, and disruptive to the scene.

For example:
During their recent voyage to Socorro, they had blundered into shoal waters... (duh. How could we forget such a major event in book 4? So why stop the dialogue to insert this authorial aside?)

Also, Flanagan reminds us for the nth time that egalitarian Skandians don't address leaders with honorifics (your majesty, your lordship, etc). We are told this several times in this book -- regarding King Duncan and Wakir Selethen -- and numerous times in varied books in both series.

Another example: Flanagan stops the scene to remind readers when Gilan had already met Wakir Selethen. Then he stops another scene to remind us about when Gilan met the Bedouin leader from the Ranger's Apprentice series.

There are more examples, but nuff said.

Other than this, the story is quite engrossing and the writing quality is solid. I appreciate Flanagan's sense of humor, word play (Phillip Pussyfoot), and knowledge of sailing and battle strategy. Of course, the characters and their developing characterization is one of Flanagan's major strengths. The scene between the twins Wulf and Ulf is poignant. The scenes with Ingvar are heartwarming and amusing. Thorn is always a big hit, too.

But ... we never find out what happened to the galley slaves after they carried out their promise. I wanted to see how Selethen treated them.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brotherband FTW

Where does Scorpion Mountain rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I really enjoy John Flanagans books. They may be YA but they appeal to older reader like me too. The great story coupled with the perfect reader makes this a wonderful audiobook

What other book might you compare Scorpion Mountain to and why?

All of the Brother band and Rangers apprentice book are great.

Any additional comments?

Great Family safe read/listen with and to your kids . Adventure perfect for 7-70

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ees.z

xws.drD z se xe🥲2dz w on't , and the pendants of my life I love

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this book

The author has a way with words. Drawing you in on this imaginary world where it feels real and offers you an escape from the present.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A good listen.

The story moved along well and the narration was great. I would recommend this to any young or older reader.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Timeless

John Flanagan and John Keating are a dynamic duo. Flanagans irrefutable ability to write stories as timeless as The Brother Band Sagas and The Rangers apprentice sagas are only to be rivaled by those of Tolkien and the Hobbit

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another masterpiece by John Flanagan

An amazing tale with that takes you through the highs and lows of the herrings journey with a masterful performance by John Keating

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't get enough

Love this series, each book is better than the last, can't wait to start another one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

it's another fantastic book. it'll grab you from beginning to end and make it difficult to put down. The fight scenes were specially good. I like the way they came up with a desert speeder. you have to read it to get more. enjoy