• Shade War

  • The Shadow Changeling Series, Book 3
  • By: M.D. Massey
  • Narrated by: Steven Barnett
  • Length: 8 hrs and 25 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (34 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Cursed by a soul-eating demon and haunted by his past, this shadow mage will do anything to save the woman he loves…from himself.

Crowley’s my name. Some call me Hound, but most don’t live to say it twice. 

The goddess Fuamnach kidnapped me when I was a child, she taught me magic, then she made me her assassin and slave. If that was all she did to me, I might’ve escaped and let it pass. But she changed me—in ways I still don’t completely understand.

There’s something inside me…and it hungers.

A blessing and a curse, my shade provides the magic I need to evade Fuamnach while it slowly gnaws away at my life force. Even worse, the entity has recently decided to rebel against me. 

Now I’m not just being hunted by a goddess.… I’m in the midst of a war for my very soul.

If the shade wins I’ll be trapped inside my body, helpless to resist while it feeds on everyone around me—including Belladonna, the woman I love. 

I have to find a way to control the shadow wraith and to stop Fuamnach from hunting me. Only then can Belladonna and I can live in peace.

To do that, I need answers—answers that can only be found in Underhill where I was enslaved and reborn. But if I’m captured there, my former master will delight in torturing me to death over several agonizing centuries. And that’s if she’s feeling generous.

This won’t be the first time I’ve bearded the lion in its den… but one slip, and it might be my last. 

Shade War is the action-packed third entry in The Shadow Changeling Series trilogy, a Colin McCool Junkyard Druid spin-off series set in M.D. Massey's Druidverse urban fantasy setting.

If you enjoy dark urban fantasy books featuring haunted antiheroes in the tradition of Snape, Walker Boh, and Constantine, you'll enjoy this action-packed love story about a shadow wizard who’s fighting for his freedom…and his very soul. 

(Note to listeners: This urban fantasy trilogy contains elements of light paranormal romance, but it is primarily an urban fantasy action and suspense series with a dark fantasy feel. The first two books have far fewer romance scenes, but the romance is the primary sub-plot in this series. Look for the payoff in this third book. ~M.D.M.)

©2022 M.D. Massey (P)2022 M.D. Massey

What listeners say about Shade War

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent as usual

Very well thought out and the thought of what's next is exciting as heck! Got to put it out of my mind for now.