1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Shadow War  By  cover art

Shadow War

By: Sean McFate
Narrated by: Jeffrey Kafer,Peter Berkrot
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An army veteran with deep expertise in military and international affairs makes his fiction debut with this electrifying international thriller - the first volume in a blistering-hot series in the tradition of Brad Thor, Tom Clancy, and Daniel Silva.

In Shadow War, an elite American mercenary on a secret mission to save a businessman's family in Eastern Europe must navigate perilous setbacks and deadly enemies that threaten to tip the balance of power between Russia and the United States.

Tom Locke is an elite warrior working for Apollo Outcomes, one of the world's most successful private contracting firms. Pulled out of a mission in Libya, he is tapped for an unusual and risky assignment: a top secret black op in Ukraine. He is given one week to rescue an oligarch's family and pull off a spectacular assault that could have long-lasting repercussions for this imperiled Eastern European nation and the world.

What Locke doesn't know is that the operation comes with a dangerous complication: Brad Winters. Locke's ambitious and enigmatic boss is engaged in a secretive, high-stakes geopolitical chess game with several influential powerbrokers in capitals around the world. One misstep could cost him - and Locke - everything.

While Locke has methodically planned the mission and handpicked a team of trusted operatives to pull it off - and save his ass if things go south - he doesn't count on running into a former love, war correspondent Alie MacFarlane, who impulsively makes a move that risks both their lives. Locke is an intelligent, iconoclastic soldier who specializes in pulling off the impossible. But all his brilliant preparation can't prevent the kind of backstabbing and deception that could lead to catastrophe...and tip the balance of power toward Putin's Russia.

©2016 Sean McFate and Bret Witter (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Shadow War

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Quit Reading Reviews and BUY IT NOW!!!

One of the best military thrillers I have read-listened to in a long long time. Realistic military action, great plot, suspense and I thoroughly enjoyed the narration.

I highly recommend shadow war. For fans of Brad Thor, Vince Flynn, Tom Clancy and Ross Sidor I say this: "this is a fresh new author that you will absolutely enjoy. I cannot wait to read the next novel in the series and will be purchasing it as soon as I am finished with this review!"

Well done!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rapp, Harvath w/ cooler gear & more int'l ops

Any additional comments?

Black-ops, targeted assassination, statecraft. Author knows his stuff. Main character is tip-of-the-spear. Former tier one operator leaves smu and brings his best assaulters to pmc world to form elite hunter-killer squad to run deniable ops and full black DA missions on behalf of DoD. no red tape, no bureaucracy, good action.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring

Why bother just another Superman story this guy is gonna save the world. Everybody that that crosses him he beats blah blah, blah same old same old why bother sorry I spent the money on this one.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Confusing

Book did not keep me engaged and feeling a strong relationship with the main character. I found myself getting confused with the characters and the story. I kept listening because I hoped I could get into it. Also, I bought it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun for the kids

Unabashedly masturbatory. The voice work is cringy and clashes against character development and battle descriptions. Still enjoyed the attention to detail though. Fun book if you know what you’re getting.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Bad book

Could hardly wait to end. Narrated in a monologue - no real story
It's a good book not to get

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Worst Audio Book

I have never before purchased an audiobook from Audible before that I really hated, until now. I found the story completely disjointed - I forced myself to listen all the way through - but it was torture.