Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

 Winner of the 2021 Best Indie Book Award for Young Adult Fiction. 

My name is Sawyer William Vincent - I know, it sounds like three first names - but most people know me as the Red Raptor.

Well, technically no one knows I'm the Red Raptor, he's just a bit more popular. 

Wow. Enough about my name. Let me start over. I’m a superhero - the legendary Black Harrier’s partner. Not sidekick. I don't care if I'm still in high school. We work together to bring down the city's most dangerous villains. 

When the Black Harrier gets a mysterious note, then goes missing in New York City, things are pretty much left up to me. But don’t worry...I’ve got this. Piece of cake. 

If you like Tim Drake as Robin or ever wondered what Peter Parker would be like if he lived in Gotham, Rap-tors is right up your alley. 

From number one Audible best seller Jaime Castle and CJ Valin comes a new superhero universe perfect for fans of both DC and Marvel.

Actually, it’s for fans of anything superhero-related. You’re gonna like it. Promise.

©2021 Aethon Books (P)2021 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Sidekick

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    813
  • 4 Stars
    370
  • 3 Stars
    153
  • 2 Stars
    46
  • 1 Stars
    18
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    873
  • 4 Stars
    289
  • 3 Stars
    94
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    730
  • 4 Stars
    308
  • 3 Stars
    169
  • 2 Stars
    50
  • 1 Stars
    19

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Whoa, Jack Meloche

Who is this guy? Where did he come from? He just shot to the top of my list. MORE FROM MELOCHE.

The story is great, too.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun for hero and coming of age fans

This is a great easy listen for Hero fans that might enjoy the 'sidekicks' perspective. Part coming of age story, part underdog.
I enjoyed the banter and awkward high school interactions with he love interest, as well as the frustrations the sidekick has with his partner.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding superhero story with great characters

I had a blast listening to this. A fresh, contemporary spin. The narrator was a perfect match for the material.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good supers story

This story was a pleasant surprise. I'd classify it as a YA novel because of the age of the MC, but the action was good. The villains were quite convincingly nefarious and some of them pretty evil. The characters were pretty convincing and consistent, as well. I'm downloading the next one as soon as I finish writing this review. Also the narration was very good, too. I don't believe I've listened to Meloche before. I will again, though.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun story

I enjoyed it. The story was very engaging and entertaining. Very much a superhero story reminiscent of Spider-Man or the like without being a ripoff.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sidekick

Here’s my required 15 words to say I enjoyed the book and am looking forward to more.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

High octane!

Start to finish powerhouse. Book two next month? I can hardly wait. I think I’ll listen again before then.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sidekicking into Classic Superhero Storytelling

At a time when superheroes are politicized, denigrated and reconstructed into caricatures unworthy of admiration, this tale shines as a gem of pure, old-fashioned human-centered storytelling. The hero, a young teen named Sawyer, is concerned over relatable things with a superhero twist. He has to juggle school and family with his part-time job (of nightly crime fighting). He has to avoid the school bully (to keep from harming the jerk). And he finds himself constantly distracted by the new girl in town (who has taken up crime fighting on his turf). My hat’s off to Jaime Castle and CJ Valin for succeeding in getting me totally invested in the character from chapter 1 and keeping my full attention to the end. I’ve already bought Book 2. The audiobook narration is also top notch.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fresh ideas join forces with the familiar!

A fantastic listen throughout, this story doesn't set out to totally reinvent the wheel and doesn't need to, but it never feels like a rip-off and it goes in some unexpected directions. It's not a long book, but it covers a lot of events and details without ever feeling rushed. Characters are well-realized and relatable, predicaments are believable, and I'm definitely ready for more stories following this hero and more spin-offs in this universe of supers. While he's great from start to finish, Jack's performance of the main villain nearly stole the show.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hidden Gem... immediately reading the next one

I was a bit skeptical before trying it that I would like a super hero book, but was pleasantly surprised. The pacing was excellent, the story kept me entertained, and the narrator was perfect for the characters in the story.
I looked into the authors other works and they’ve got stuff in my normal go to genres too. If they can make me enjoy a genre I’ve beforehand not really been super interested in, I can only imagine how much I’ll enjoy reading their stuff in fantasy and sci-fi.

4 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K. Weir
  • K. Weir
  • 11-28-21

Excellent performance, but extremely predictable

I really liked the premise for this book, and the voice actor was brilliant. The plot, unfortunately, was rubbish - cliche after cliche. Wouldn’t recommend (unless you’re new to the genre, in which case you may enjoy)

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Samuel Kings
  • Samuel Kings
  • 05-23-21

Excellent performance by voice actors

The story isn't anything to original, and borrows a lot from DC comics as it is clearly inspired by Batman and Robin, however this does not take away much from story.

The performance by the voice actors was brilliant and really brought the characters and story to life.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christopher morgan
  • Christopher morgan
  • 04-24-21

super teen

love this story,first time listening to the narrator and he does a good job of sounding like a superhero teenager with all the ups and downs that entails, mums right?😄

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scorpion kickboxer
  • Scorpion kickboxer
  • 04-12-21

A love letter to super hero’s

This book has everything you could want for a super hero story, old hero’s, new hero’s struggling to find the balance, mysterious capes appearing from nowhere. The old grizzled I’m to good for this bullshit hero’s.

If your a fan of super story’s this book is a must have for you ! Why are you reading this review just buy it now !!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Glennccc
  • Glennccc
  • 03-28-21

Great Story

Everything you need in a superhero book, a superhero with hang ups, a geeky young sidekick, a love interest, proper villains, great action and a fascinating back story. all delivered very well by Jack Meloche.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Casper bakken
  • Casper bakken
  • 09-20-22

Awesome book

Ok this has some serious Batman and Robin vibes, and it’s clear that the Author was 100% inspired by Batman. But weirdly enough it just makes it a more awesome book, because it feels different enough to be its own story and it’s an awesome story!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lomas Theon
  • Lomas Theon
  • 12-21-21

Really quite good.

Would like to hear the story from adult view point.
My daughter will enjoy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 12-15-21

You have got to love the sidekicks

I loved this book. Before it was even finished I was downloading the next book, I enjoyed it that much. I usual prefer cozy mysteries but every now and again I like a change and who doesn't love the big budget super hero film? Where you don't need much story but lots of action and spectacular fight scenes. Well with this book you get the best of both worlds. Plenty of action, a good backstory and a little mystery as to what has happened to the main super hero. I really liked the characters and could see them gracing the silver screen, the authors obviously had a lot of fun writing this book and coming up with different names. It was fun that the sidekick (actually the main character) is still at school and having to deal with bullies, which I think most people can relate to but in this case the bully gets his comeuppance. Just a fun book for any super hero fan.
What happens when the main super hero of New York goes missing? The super villains come out to play and it is left up to his sidekick (sorry his fifteen year old partner) to pick up the slack and make the streets safe once again. That is when he isn't in detention or grounded. Can Red Raptor step up to the challenge find his mentor, stay out of the way of the school bully and go up against some super villains who have escaped a maximum security prison? Oh and get his homework done all before the start of school?
I liked the narrator. He used some very good voices to bring the characters to life, I especially liked the voice he gave the French chief.
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

.