• Sins of the Father

  • Erin Solomon Pentalogy, Book 2
  • By: Jen Blood
  • Narrated by: Melissa Redmond
  • Length: 7 hrs and 43 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (65 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Sins of the Father  By  cover art

Sins of the Father

By: Jen Blood
Narrated by: Melissa Redmond
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Dennis Lehane, John Connelly, and Iris Johansen. Book two in the "thoroughly addictive" Erin Solomon mystery series. 2012 New England Book Festival Winner, Honorable Mention for Outstanding Fiction.

The brutal murder of a young girl more than 40 years ago pulls investigative reporter Erin Solomon into a serpentine mystery revolving around her own father's dark past. The trail leads Erin and fellow reporter Daniel "Diggs" Diggins to Black Falls, Maine, a town steeped in the Acadian tradition, where young girls have gone missing with terrifying frequency for decades. Soon, it's clear that the father Erin thought she knew has buried secrets she never could have imagined.

When the investigation leads them to a killer who sets his sights on Erin, her relentless pursuit of the truth lands her and Diggs in the rugged wilderness along the Maine/Canada border. With a deranged serial killer on their heels, FBI agent Jack Juarez battles the clock while Erin and Diggs fight for their lives in a diabolical game of cat and mouse among the rivers and caves of the rugged Allagash Wilderness.

©2012 Jen Blood (P)2015 Jen Blood

What listeners say about Sins of the Father

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great follow up

What did you love best about Sins of the Father?

It answered most of the questions from the first one.

What other book might you compare Sins of the Father to and why?

I don't think I've come across anything similar to it that isn't in this series.

What does Melissa Redmond bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The story came alive. She animated the action

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Neither, but I did feel sad for the victims, and for Diggs.

Any additional comments?

I love this story. It was well written, and I was sucked in from the very beginning. The suspense was on point, and the action and back story was riveting.I thought it had a great ending. I was satisfied.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story horrible reader

I like Jen blood’s stories, but I am not fond of Melissa Redmond’s reading. Not enough ooomfh.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Give her a heart

Erin is very harsh. Not just with others but mostly with herself. That really got in my way of giving myself over completely to the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best books I’ve read in a very long time,

I enjoyed “All the Blue Eyed Angels so much that I had to read the next in the series. “Sins of the Father” didn’t disappoint! I was kept on the edge of my seat for half the book! Now I can’t wait to listen to the next book! I both admire & cringe at Erin’s gutziness! I’m looking forward to finding out what she’ll be getting herself into next!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Tangie

Good story, bad narrative. Please stop letting Melissa read. She is terrible, so monotone & unsure.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good pace. Engaging story and characters.

I really enjoyed this book. The characters were well fleshed out and the story moved at a good pace, giving enough to keep me interested but not so much that I figured everything out and got bored. I'm definitely interested in the third book in this series.

I recieved a free copy of this audiobook from the author.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If Only Someone Else Had Narrated

Would you consider the audio edition of Sins of the Father to be better than the print version?

I read the first book on my Kindle.I didn't read the print version this time around and I really wish I had now. The narration was not impressive.

What did you like best about this story?

Fast paced. Didn't linger on the all the sexual stuff.

What didn’t you like about Melissa Redmond’s performance?

It was so incredibly flat. No inflection. Hardly any variations on character voices. I really had to grit my teeth and listen to it to the end. I had really hoped they'd found someone else to narrate the 3rd book, but no such luck. I will have to power through that one as well. Hopefully the male counterpart will offset it.
Honestly, I put more effort in when I read aloud to my 4 year old.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Better Than Book 1 BUT narrator ruins it.

Book 2 was better than the first book by far. The problem AGAIN is the NARRATION. Terrible narration ruins good stories. Jen Blood has to know this. How could she not?

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Read

I really enjoyed this book.
Liked how the humor was nicely mixed in with the suspense.
Can't wait to read the next in the series.