adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $26.64

Buy for $26.64

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by best-selling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential listening for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

The young woman who changed the course of history.

Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love.

But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game.

Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price.

Anne Boleyn. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story.

History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.

Six Tudor Queens. Six novels. Six years.

©2017 Alison Weir (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life." The Guardian)

More from the same

What listeners say about Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mari gordon
  • mari gordon
  • 05-15-18

Well written, terribly read.

If you're familiar with Weir you'll know what to expext: the writing's ok, especially if you're into Tudor tales anyway.
However, the reading is awful, with pantomime-style voices and no interpretation of the writing at all.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-30-17

Wonderful fresh telling

Very interesting to to have Anne approached in a way that contrasts the many other novels of her life.
Alison Weir has long been my favourite author of historical fiction, and I have enjoyed the first two books in the 6 wives series almost as much as innocent traitor, which I still believe to be her finest work.
I enjoyed the performance of Anna Bentinck, but the version I listened to needs editing, there are several mistakes and even a double take of the same initially mispronounced sentence.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Craig Sage
  • Craig Sage
  • 03-05-21

badly edited

afew times there are repeated lines and other odd bits in it but overall its okay

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Captain's Craftworks
  • Captain's Craftworks
  • 02-09-22

Bit glitch but good account

Well researched but narrator's voices aren't great in my opinion. Lots of glitches where lines either skip or are repeated. Overall a good story and would recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie Clare
  • Julie Clare
  • 12-05-21

Excellent apart from the reading errors

This is absolutely fabulous and more like Hilary Mantel than Phillipa Gregory in its rich detail. However, it is such a shame that no one seems have proof-listened to the whole thing before publication. From the repeating of a line where the pronouciation of a bird was changed but the original line left in; to several errors along the lines of “the King was pleased that the King…” where the first “King” should have been Anne”. And the kings saluted her (guards perhaps?). A few little errors but increasing towards the end and if the listener is expected to spend over 14 hours listening, accuracy would be appreciated.
That said, the narration is excellent and Anita Bentinck voices the different characters beautifully. Definitely recommend - although (plot spoiler) unfortunately the ending doesn’t change.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jamie Sheehy
  • Jamie Sheehy
  • 11-27-21

Great narration of a great story

Anna Bentinck is one of my favourite narrators and does a great with this superbly written historical novel. These books read well and I think that Alison dares to stray into the debatable grounds of skepticism.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-03-21

Didn’t enjoy narration

I’ve bought all 6 books in series and ( of course) this is the second

I didn’t enjoy but determined to stick with it. While I understand the stories are embellished this one seemed a bit far fetched at times. Plus I didn’t enjoy the Narrator

I enjoyed Aragon and Hope next one is better

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chantelle Wills
  • Chantelle Wills
  • 10-25-21

Heartbreaking

The narrator was fantastic. Near the end I had such dread as I'm a history buff and knew what was coming as soon as the date at the beginning of the chapters we're announced.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for shabnam saleem
  • shabnam saleem
  • 08-01-21

brilliant story telling wonderful narration

really enjoyed this by Alison Weir will be purchasing more by the author.
I liked the fact that the story didn't just begin with Anne and Henry it started way before going in depth

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amy
  • Amy
  • 04-05-21

Enchanting

Couldn't stop listening, I'm a little familiar with Anne's story so it was amazing to hear her fleshed out as the whole person she was. Anne like Catherine was a victim of patriarchal rule, she was murdered by the state when her body didn't do what the powerful men around her wanted. It's emotional to listen to her terror while imprisoned and infuriating to hear her so elequently and intelligenty defend herself in that shame trial. This audiobook is a brilliant tribute to an incredible woman, even with the occasional recording mistakes and the drums at the end, which are a little jarring. I'lll listen again and again, amazing.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debbie
  • Debbie
  • 07-10-19

Great account of history

Really enjoyed this audio book would definitely recommend. Lovely to hear history put into a story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joanne Park
  • Joanne Park
  • 04-13-19

Anne Boleyn - what a life !

I have read many accounts of Anne Boleyn’s life and this one is the absolute best.
Alison Weir has woven a fabulous mosaic, wonderfully narrated by the very talented Anna Bentinck.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and have no hesitation in recommending it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alyson
  • Alyson
  • 10-03-18

Fantastic

Loved the book and thought The narrator was amazing love to voices for the actors

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-23-22

Great historical novel

A great historical novel ...I couldn't help liking Anne Boleyn and couldn't stop listening..Simply fascinating...

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jon
  • Jon
  • 12-14-21

Excellent listening

Anna Bentinck narrated this historical story beautifully. It was easy to follow the different characters. I hope she narrates some more of these books.
Alison Weir is an marvellous author, being able to write the history in such an appealing way.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for marie gunderson-briggs
  • marie gunderson-briggs
  • 12-13-17

Horrible

Badly read badly written

I could bet to listen - wish I hadn’t bought it

In a word it was trite