adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.62

Buy for $19.62

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

This is the story of a great love - a love that will threaten worlds and anger Gods.

This is a story that will change history.

Simidele is one of the Mami Wata, mermaids duty-bound to collect the souls of those who die at sea and bless their journeys back home to the Supreme Creator.

But when a living boy is thrown overboard a slave ship, Simi saves his life, going against an ancient decree and bringing terrible danger to the mami wata.

Now Simi must journey to the Supreme Creator to make amends - a journey of vengeful gods, treacherous lands and legendary creatures. If she fails, she risks not just the fate of all Mami Wata, but also the world as she knows it.

An epic love story infused with West African mythology. For fans of The Gilded Ones, Children of Blood and Bone and Circe, this book is a powerful new imagining of one of history's darkest stories, told through the eyes of a bold and unforgettable heroine.

©2021 Natasha Bowen (P)2021 Penguin Audio

What listeners say about Skin of the Sea

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BPW
  • BPW
  • 01-05-22

Not predictable at all!

Such a great book. Read it! I don’t want to spoil it for you. You should definitely read it!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Author
  • Author
  • 12-01-21

Loved this story from start to end.

I loved this book from the starr to the end. It's Yoruba mythology mixed with the darkest part of time of African history by goddess Yemoja and her actions bring hope in such a dreary time. You are sad, you afe angry, you are hopeful, you root for the hero and heroine trying to defy all odds and outsmart a trickster god hell bend on getting something they have.
The fairies are my beloved. I loved them all through and will forever remember Essa/Issa.
The world bulding is so beautiful, well explored and it draws you in and keeps you rooted until the last page. I loved every minute of it except that bridge to the island battle, it was too much for mt delicate heart.
But I can't wait for the next book.
Yetide Badaki narrated it so well and all characters were individual.