1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Slasher Girls & Monster Boys  By  cover art

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys

By: April Genevieve Tucholke
Narrated by: Robbie Daymond,Emma Bering,Nora Hunter,Jorjeana Marie,Julia Whelan,MacLeod Andrews
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror.

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea's April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two - sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not - to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any listener looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV's The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

  • Stefan Bachmann
  • Leigh Bardugo
  • Kendare Blake
  • A. G. Howard
  • Jay Kristoff
  • Marie Lu
  • Jonathan Maberry
  • Danielle Paige
  • Carrie Ryan
  • Megan Shepherd
  • Nova Ren Suma
  • McCormick Templeman
  • April Genevieve Tucholke
  • Cat Winters

©2015 April Genevieve Tucholke (P)2015 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"If your idea of an excellent summer night is telling ghost stories around the campfire, you'll be jumping for (horrific) joy over Slasher Girls & Monster Boys." (Bustle)

“Terrifying and new.... There’s nary a clunker in the collection - this is satisfying, disturbing horror for the modern YA audience.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Murderous neighbors, creepy bathtubs, and lots of blood.... Full of thrills and chills [and] gross, creepy fun.” (Kirkus Reviews)

What listeners say about Slasher Girls & Monster Boys

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unique collection!

I have long been tempted to buy this book and I'm so glad I went with the audio version. I really enjoyed listening to these stories while I was driving. I can honestly say I enjoyed every story except for two. Very creative stories inspired by popular and lesser known works. I would definitely recommend this collection, although the tales are spooky and gory, for the most part there wasn't anything I couldn't handle and I'm not a fan of horror. The stories I didn't enjoy were mostly due to the narrator using voices that distracted too much from the plot rather than adding to it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

just okay

I remember reading this collection when it first came out. And I remember thinking that most of the stories in it were just okay. And, boy, were my memories right.

But I was jonesing for some more Julia Whelan narration, so I picked this up.

The rest of the narrators were just okay, nothing to write home about. And poor Julia only got to narrate, like, three stories here, two of them in a dumb Southern redneck voice, rather than her own, which stunk.

Most of the stories were just okay and, for me at least, the best one was the Alice In Wonderland take-off (which was read, of course, by Julia Whelan). That being said, there was only one serious stinker in the bunch, and that was "M".

If you have money to burn on something fairly mediocre or just plain aren't picky, this audiobook gets my vote.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sets the bar high for anthologies

Of course not every story is going to be as good as the rest but in this book they all come really close. I loved almost all of them and liked the ones I didn't love. The narration was exquisite too.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best anthologies I've read

I really enjoyed this anthology. It was a great mix of styles and story types. It is hard to pick a favourite.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!!!!

I couldn’t put this book down! I hesitated a little because it’s for YA but it didn’t make a difference in the least. Awesome stories and great narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Listened to it twice in a row, it’s that good

I absolutely loved this book. Every single story was well written and very well narrated! I liked guessing which movie inspired each story. My favorite story had to be the very last in the book. This is absolutely something I will give a third and probably a fourth listen to!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

creepy and satisfying

short stories that all send a chill. I cant pick which one I liked the most!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a book you have to hear.

If you are a fan of horror stories then this is the book for you. There are several stories in this book each different then the last. My favorite being about krow kollum. just do yourself a favor and get this book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

So So

The story I really enjoyed was the one based on the omen and Alice in wonder land.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

teenage here

I totally love it. I keeps listening to it over and over like 5x. even my friends enjoyed this book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sarah marrie
  • sarah marrie
  • 10-13-19

Great narrators bad story selection

All narrators gave great performances, but I just couldn,t get invested into these stories. I found I was skipping large chunks of this audiobook because I was getting board while listening. Personally, I wouldn’t recommend this book.