• Slaves of Socorro

  • Brotherband, Book 4
  • By: John Flanagan
  • Narrated by: John Keating
  • Length: 12 hrs and 18 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (1,268 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $42.00

Buy for $42.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the author of the mega-selling Ranger's Apprentice! 

Hal and his fellow Herons have returned home to Skandia after defeating the pirate Captain Zavac and reclaiming Skandia's most prized artifact, the Andomal. With their honor restored, the Herons turn to a new mission: tracking down an old rival turned bitter enemy. 

Tursgud - leader of the Shark Brotherband and Hal's constant opponent - has turned from a bullying youth into a pirate and slave trader. After Tursgud captures 12 Araluen villagers to sell as slaves, the Heron crew sails into action...with the help of one of Araluen's finest Rangers! 

In this fourth audiobook in the Brotherband Chronicles, a new battle unfolds as old rivalries are renewed, peace treaties are put to the test, and the action builds to a pulse-pounding finale. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2014 John A. Flanagan (P)2014 Penguin Audiobooks

Critic Reviews

"A sweeping novel of adventure, written with wit and a sure sense of storytelling." (Booklist)

What listeners say about Slaves of Socorro

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,102
  • 4 Stars
    145
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,019
  • 4 Stars
    109
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    997
  • 4 Stars
    130
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love the narrator and the story

As always, the narrator is wonderful. I also just really enjoy Mr. Flanagan's writings.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good book

was a good book but ch53 or 54 skipped and you seemed to miss a part

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story as usual

We have really enjoyed all of John Flannigan's books. the characters are very likable and you can't help but be invested in them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

every book has been awesome so far

so far everything I've have read and listened to from the rangers apprentice to the brother band has been really good I find myself just about nonstop listening to the lasted book. the story teller is perfect, with his voices for each character as well as for the narrator parts perfect 👌. I can't wait to get started on the next book. I wish they wouldn't have to come to an end!!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This is the best story ever!!!

I have finished the last two books and to be honest it is an interesting story but there have been times I became bored because I like action because I just want to get to the fighting but I can’t do that all the time because I will miss an interesting fact other than that this series is great but my siblings do not like it a single bit but I don’t mind. 😃

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great adventure.

I was carried away on a great voyage again. Bravo!
The narrator really brings you into this series. The writing has action, adventure and lots of humor. Love the story and series.
Thank you.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Live this series!!

I absolutely love both series as a whole, love this world, just fantastic. Must listen!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Flanagan and Keating do it again!

Another witty, entertaining masterpiece! I thoroughly enjoyed experiencing the adventure, humor, justice, and sense of bonding along with the characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Slaves of Socorro is another successful tale.

The Brotherband is able to have another successful cruise. With great troubles to overcome. I am looking forward to their next adventure.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen

Great book as usual, performance is great and the story lives up to great dyandars