1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.26

Buy for $15.26

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The perfect children's book to curl up with and begin the new year. A beautiful and heart-wrenching middle-grade debut for kids aged nine to 11, full of love, healing, friendship and hope. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson's Tracey Beaker, Cathy Cassidy, Pax and Gill Lewis.

When 11-year-old Addie goes to stay with a foster family on a remote Exmoor farm in the midst of a very cold winter, she is full of hurt, anger and a deep mistrust of everyone around her. Until one day, when she rescues a tiny wild foal from the moorland snow and Addie discovers that perhaps she’s not so alone after all.

And as adventure and unexpected friendship blossom, Addie is determined that both of them will know what is to be home again soon....

A beautifully written, warm story for anyone looking for a gorgeous family book to enjoy together and to capture the imagination of young horse fans, too. 

Susanna Bailey divides her time between writing, freelance social-work and lecturing in creative writing at Bath Spa University, where she also studied. Susanna wrote Snow Foal during her time at the same university where she drew much inspiration from her tutor, award-winning David Almond. Snow Foal has already been shortlisted for the Joan Aitken Future Classics Prize.

©2019 Susanna Bailey (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"I absolutely love Snow Foal - it's so truthful, tender and touching. A book to read in a day and remember for a lifetime." (Dame Jacqueline Wilson)

"A beautiful book with a big heart." (Gill Lewis, author of Sky Hawk)

"A mesmerising new voice about a girl that deserves to be heard." (Joanna Nadin)

What listeners say about Snow Foal

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for fairgereef
  • fairgereef
  • 01-25-22

Unbreakable love🐴

It such at hart warming story i feel that there should be another book because I think addy should end up riding the foul when he grows up and he needs a name . I feel that a bit more stuff needed to happen also we need to see flows puppy’s!!Other then that it so good I am picking so write more books