adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A completely gripping suspense thriller with a breathtaking twist

I was happy my husband died, but I couldn’t admit it, otherwise people might think I killed him. 

Before 

Olivia knows she is lucky. She has a loving husband, Frank, an adorable son, Jake, and a beautiful new home. It couldn’t be more different from her childhood on the outskirts of Whitaker, dirt poor and dreaming of getting out. But at the end of long days with no one to talk to, always feeling like she’s not quite good enough, she starts to wonder if there’s a better life waiting....

After 

Everyone in Whitaker knows who Olivia is. She’s the woman who left her family for no-good Dane Miller - and the one who most likely shot him. Now, there’s gossip about her everywhere she goes, she’s too scared to leave the house most days, and she barely gets to see her beloved son. 

How can a perfect life fall apart so quickly? And, when you have nothing to lose, how far will you go to save yourself? 

An absolutely gripping, heart-pounding suspense novel about bad choices and second chances. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Karin Slaughter, and Lisa Gray.

©2020 Miranda Smith (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about Some Days Are Dark

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Who is this narrator?

I just couldn’t make myself to this whinny sloppy sounding narrator and returned the book.

I don’t know if I would have enjoyed the story with a different narrator or not.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narration is so distracting.

I was switching back and forth from reading this book on my Kindle at home and then listening to it on Audlible in the car. Reading the book was enjoyable....listening to it on Audlible was not. I felt like it was being narrated by the voices of Peggy and Bobby from the cartoon King of the Hill. I gave up trying to listen to it on Audible after three attempts.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must read!

This was by far my favorite book. I related to Olivia as a mother. I felt her pain. I hung on every word. I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Very disappointing read

I was bored out of my mind . I finally skipped a dozen chapters to discover the details I was interested in.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

wow!

thought for awhile u was listening to excerpts from my own life.... minus the murder....but plenty of other drama to make up for it!!! loved it

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    out of 5 stars
  • HP
  • 04-21-20

Worst Narrator Ever

This might be a good book if the narrator didnt sound like a 5 year old reading for the first time.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Where was the psychological thriller part?

If this was supposed to be a gripping psychological thriller it Never made it there. A very long story with a pretty good ending.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! You think you know people but you don't.

I was so wrong about who'd killed Dane but I was not wrong in choosing to read this book. In fact, I'm still trying to wrap my head around that jaw dropping twist at the very end. This was another great read by Miranda Smith and another followed author added to my list. Make sure to add this to your library if you're looking for a good book to lose track of time in.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Choppy

Story was great but the narrator was not smooth in reading. She did a great kid voice though