adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Sometimes, just one person can pull a whole family apart. And sometimes, it just takes one person to pull it back together.

For fans of Bridgerton, New York Times best-selling Regency-romance author Mary Balogh shows how love truly conquers all in this new Westcott family novel.

As a young man, Justin Wiley was banished by his father for mysterious reasons, but now his father is dead, and Justin has been Earl of Brandon for six years. A dark, dour man, he nonetheless takes it as his responsibility to care for his half-sister, Maria, when her mother dies. He travels to her home to fetch her back to the family seat at Everleigh Park.

Although she adored him once, Maria now loathes Justin, and her friend, Lady Estelle Lamarr, can see immediately how his very name upsets her. When Justin arrives and invites Estelle and her brother to accompany Maria to Everleigh Park to help with her distress, she begrudgingly agrees for Maria's sake.

As family secrets unravel in Maria's homecoming, Justin, too, uncovers his desire for a countess. And, while he may believe he's found an obvious candidate in the beautiful 25-year-old Lady Estelle, she is most certain that they could never make a match....

©2021 Mary Balogh (P)2021 Recorded Books, Inc.

What listeners say about Someone Perfect

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    97
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Unbelievably boring!

I cannot really believe this is Mary Balogh! A million plus unnecessary words! It just doesn't compare to anything Balogh wrote previously. Even Rosalyn Landor couldn't wake this one up. Not worth the attempt to like it just because I have loved Mary Balogh's books - every one of them - until now.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh, That Mary Balogh…

I very, very rarely write reviews, but after this fantastic book felt I had to let you know about this writer. Yes her books are well written, yes there’s always mild drama, yes it will be a romance that is lovely without being vulgar in all its physical aspects.

But that Mary Balogh! She’s amazing. I listen as I do chores and errands. Yesterday I picked up my daughter from work with tears flowing and a throat too clogged with love for the characters to even tell my daughter hello. When she got into the car and looked at my face laughed and asked “Mary Balogh.”

Nuff said.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don’t waste your credit or your time.

Very disappointed in this book and to say it’s a Westcott novel is stretching it. This was so boring that Roselyn Landor couldn’t make it bearable. Story is about Viola Westcott’s husband’s daughter. The husband doesn’t come off smelling like a rose either. I have loved almost everything Mary Balogh has written and hope she starts a new series and stops expanding on one’s we all loved as a hook.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Moves too slowly

Overall a good story but the author repeats herself over and over so it was hard not to get distracted.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So lovely!

Lady Estelle Lemarr is content with being single. No one has come along to tempt her, and she’s determined not to settle for someone less that her idea of perfect. I could understand her feelings. Why settle when you’re fine with things as they are? However, that’s usually when you find love as is the case here with Estelle. The Earl of Brandon, Justin Wiley, with his broody looks and attitude immediately sets her back up and Estelle’s not inclined to like him as he hasn’t bothered to visit his younger sister, Maria, for years when she clearly needed him. But first impressions can be very wrong.

Justin had inherited the title of Earl of Brandon with the passing of his father six years earlier, but hasn’t been around his younger half sister since she was eight. With the passing of his stepmother Justin is now Maria’s guardian. He intends to live up to his duties and take Maria back to the family home of Everleigh. Maria isn’t happy with her brother at all. Seeing that Lady Estelle and her brother Bertrand are friends with Maria, he invites them to stay to make the changes for Maria easier. He tells himself that he’s only inviting them for Maria, but his first accidental meeting with Estelle has stuck in his head and he can’t help but be drawn to her.

It took a while for me to get into the story and I didn’t even really feel any romance between Estelle and Justin until the 30% mark, but there was some time that had to be spent setting up the story. There were a lot of characters involved and it took some doing getting them straight in my head. Honestly, I just gave up after a while and concentrated more on Estelle and Justin, but by the end I think I had the different families and relations mostly sorted.

As the story goes on Estelle begins to realize her first impressions of Justin were not fair, and he began to gain her respect and admiration in the way he dealt with Maria and the many family members. Estelle had strong feelings about Justin, even at their first meeting, that she comes to realize as stirrings of attraction. Much more powerful that she wanted to admit to, and she finds herself reluctantly drawn to him at every turn.

My heart broke for Justin and all he went through because of a spiteful, selfish woman. His interactions with Estelle were muddled, but endearing. I loved the inescapable quality to their romance and the unexpected heat!

This is book nine of the series, but it’s not necessary to read the previous books. There are mentions of the previous couples and there’s a lot of extended family named, but honestly you don’t need to keep it all straight to enjoy it.

Someone Perfect took a little while to get into but ended up being so lovely! Justin and Estelle’s story filled my heart with joy!

I've listened to Rosalyn Landor before and I do enjoy her performance. Her female voices are wonderful, but the male voices sometimes come off sounding really elderly. Overall, the audio was great!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Someone Perfect

I enjoyed this book so much. I have to admit that I have become addicted to audiobooks. This was a straight listen. When I do choose a book, the Narrator is important too. Ms Landor is my FIRST choice. She brings each project to life. The Storyline was very arresting. THANK YOU Ms Balogh and Ms Landor.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sweet story to continue the Wescott saga

Very sweet story even though it was very predictable. Enjoyed all of it and it flew by. Hopefully there will be another story in the series soon. If you are looking for an easy to follow historical romance, this is a great one. Kinda missed the interactions with the other Wescotts but the twins were good “honorary” Wescotts.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Praise for narrator!

I enjoyed this book like I always do Mary Balogh, but today I want to focus on the narrator performance. Rosalyn Landor is simply the best! Her performance is always flawless! Her voices and characters are distinct and spot on. Her “acting” is superb! I have enjoyed her for years, but never taken time to really praise her. Thank you, Rosalyn for many, many hours of enjoyment!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not Her Best

I feel like Ms. Balogh just wants to be done with the Westcotts but is being forced to write a novel about every. single. character. I do really like Justin, and I adored the storyline involving Ricky, but Maria seemed like a whiny 16 year old girl, not a 20 year old woman. Estelle was much more enjoyable in previous books. I found her to be much less interesting in her own story as the main character than she was in her father's as a supporting one.
I used a credit to preorder this one, but I'm left with some regret, just as I was with Harry and Lydia's story. I love the Westcotts, but in this instance, maybe Ms. Balogh should have quit while she was ahead.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Should have been a much shorter book

I've read many of Ms Balogh's work, but it's almost like someone else wrote this and stuck her name on it, there were way too many phrases repeated. 5mins later pretty much the whole idea would be gone through again. I was even rolling my eyes at some instances. "He was 10 at the time, it's been 24 years so that makes him 34".... you don't say.

And the use of "he said" "she said" dozens of times was also annoying. Maybe that part was the narrator's delivery? . The idea for the story was interesting, but was somewhat lacking. Save your $15

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms. P Hobbs
  • Ms. P Hobbs
  • 12-28-21

hmmm.

While I really liked the characters of Estelle and
Justin, and their journey to find love, the five million relatives (slight exaggeration) and all their names and titles became so damn tedious that I began to lose interest in the main story. And the constant repetition of all.those names and their relationship to each other ...yawn. I know how hard it is to keep everyone in the loop having written a series myself but this was beyond irritating. Not sure I'll read any more Westcott despite being a huge Mary Ballogh fan. might just re listen to Slightly Dangerous- now that's a series end worth reading over and over....

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ecambl
  • ecambl
  • 12-15-21

The last of the Westcotts

Delightful story read perfectly by Rosalyn Landor. She manages to get all the accents of each member of the cast perfectly as always. Not to be missed!