adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.50

Buy for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

New York Times Editors’ Choice

A novelist discovers the dark side of Hollywood and reckons with ambition, corruption, and connectedness in the age of environmental collapse and ecological awakening - a darkly unsettling near-future novel for readers of Don DeLillo and Ottessa Moshfegh

ONE OF VULTURE’S BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR • ONE OF SUMMER’S BEST BOOKS: The Wall Street JournalTimeParadeLitHubVanity Fair • Vogue • Refinery29 • Esquire

“A darkly satirical reflection of ecological reality.” (Time)
“Genius.” (Los Angeles Times)
“Wildly entertaining and beautifully written.” (LitHub)

East Coast novelist Patrick Hamlin has come to Hollywood with simple goals in mind: overseeing the production of a film adaptation of one of his books, preventing starlet Cassidy Carter's disruptive behavior from derailing said production, and turning this last-ditch effort at career resuscitation into the sort of success that will dazzle his wife and daughter back home. But California is not as he imagined: Drought, wildfire, and corporate corruption are omnipresent, and the company behind a mysterious new brand of synthetic water seems to be at the root of it all. Patrick partners with Cassidy - after having been her reluctant chauffeur for weeks - and the two of them investigate the sun-scorched city's darker crevices, where they discover that catastrophe resembles order until the last possible second.

In this often-witty and all-too-timely story, Alexandra Kleeman grapples with the corruption of our environment in the age of alternative facts. Something New Under the Sun is a meticulous and deeply felt accounting of our very human anxieties, liabilities, dependencies, and, ultimately, responsibility to truth.

©2021 Alexandra Kleeman (P)2021 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

"Kleeman is a visionary writer.... She’s also very funny. These two qualities are shown to great effect here, as she turns her attention to the movie business, our looming climate crisis, corporate malfeasance and the Disney child star system. It’s a brilliant, ambitious book.” (Refinery29)

“With nods to Beckett and Stoppard, Kleeman juxtaposes fiery doom with passages of sharp, absurdist dialogue and a sprinkle of one-liners reminiscent of Fleabag.” (Instyle

“The varieties of emergency - ecological, psychological, familial, medical - are the half-hidden subject of Kleeman’s novel, burning at the periphery of what begins as a modishly detached rollick through Hollywood and its empty promises.... It is a ghost story not of the past but of the near future, a ghost story as alarm bell, one hard to leave in the realm of fiction.” (The New York Times

What listeners say about Something New Under the Sun

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Interesting premise

Not for me, though. I didn't care for the characters but stayed with the book until the end. Not sure it was worth the time.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Genre-defying

The story is at once entertaining, suspenseful, allegorical, character-driven, flipped and relevant. The performance is stellar snd seamless. I loved it. I was not ready to like this book as much as I did. Every character as endearing and infuriating as only looking in the mirror can be. Brava!