• Songbird in a Storm

  • Songbird Series, Book 1
  • By: Ophelia Lockheart
  • Narrated by: Kim Bretton
  • Length: 11 hrs and 55 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (157 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Ripped from her life and thrown back to the roaring '20s, a modern woman must learn to navigate gangsters, flappers, and organized crime.

London paramedic and caregiver for her sick grandmother Roseanna Chapman has her hands full. But, when she is cast back in time and witnesses a murder, she finds herself stranded and in danger.

In 1921, Daniel Alderman’s a feared and ruthless gangster. He must rely on Roseanna to find his brother’s killer, but with her hiding so many secrets, can he trust her or could she be the killer?

The two connect as a race against time ensues, but as their feelings intensify, so does the threat against Roseanna’s life, and she becomes torn between the man she loves and her grandmother, who desperately needs her care.

Can they navigate time and tragedy together, or will their love become another cautionary tale of days gone by?

Click "buy now" to enter a riveting world of romance, secrets, and the quest for home. A perfect book for fans of Diana Gabaldon, Mariah Stone, Trinity Dunn, and Diana Knightley.

©2022 Melanie James (P)2022 Melanie James

What listeners say about Songbird in a Storm

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    96
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great time travel romance with mystery and spice

This is great time travel romance with some spice. Roseanna finds herself going through the motions in her life, wrapped up with her job as a paramedic and taking care of her ailing grandmother. Her sort-of boyfriend invites her to a party at a home in the country, which she reluctantly agrees to attend after a nudge from her best friend. But on the way to the party, an accident occurs, and subsequent events thrust her back in time 100 years, to 1921.

Upon her initial arrival back in time, Roseanna is unaware of what has happened. Things appear differently, everything seems off, and she stumbles upon an altercation that results in the death of a young man, to which she is now the only witness. As she becomes entangled with the family of the murdered young man, especially his older, enigmatic, and very handsome older brother, Daniel, she is torn between the desire to return to her own time, life, and family, and to stay with this new family, and love that she has come into.

The 1920’s imagery is very well done, mixing in an under privileged, hard working, and family rich community with aspects of a darker, small town mobster world full of drugs, intimidation, and political corruption. As Roseanne tries to do what she can to help unmask the murderer, she finds some aspects of life in the twenties easier to acclimate to than others. But the closer they get to answers, the closer her an Daniel get to each other.

This is the first book of a trilogy, so we are left with a cliffhanger - nothing earth shattering, but definitely leaves things open in a way that will make you want to come back for more. I really enjoyed the story overall, and the character and world building were done very well, while moving the plot along at a good pace.

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Time Travel Romance

A very interesting story full of 1920s action and excitement. The narration was wonderfully done.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic start to a cracking new series

Fantastic start to a cracking new series with an incredible set of characters. Great story, great narration, hunky hero. Bring on book number 2! I need to know what happens next!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

interesting

This is different then what I normally listen to but I enjoyed it great start to a new series interesting story good characters and the narrator was good can't wait to listen to the rest of the series

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Very violent

Not what I was expecting- the language is horrible, very violent and boring. I couldn’t make it through.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Never wanted it to end

A beautiful cross between Outlander and Peaky blinders. Beware though there is no true ending

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Book!

Loved this story! Can't wait till Book 2 is out on Audible! Hurry up!!! (And same narrator please)!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

story writing was amazing kept you interested the whole time..can not wait to hear the next episode wow you have outdone yourself with this story. I only wish there were as many entertaining books like this!. not 1 minute was boring and the narration was suburb!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!!!

I truly and throughly enjoyed this book. I did not want it to ever end. I loved the characters so much. I wanted to be a part of their family. I am a huge Time Travel fan and this book was fantastic. I very highly recommend.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Peaky Blinders, but with a heart

The story is similar to Peaky Blinders containing characters resembling Thomas Shelby, Aunt Polly, and Grace. Rosanna is a duck out of water in this time traveling tale back to 1920s East London and it's gangsters.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ashleigh Wilson Jasper
  • Ashleigh Wilson Jasper
  • 03-31-22

A Masterpiece

I found it a little hard to get into at the very beginning but when the MC finds herself in the 1920s I was completely hooked. I'm normally a fae romance reader, I stick to my fantasy and my steamy romance books which is why I was surprised to have enjoyed this as much as I did, as a plot such as this is something I would watch on television. It has that peaky blinders vibe to it, it has romance. The MCF is strong, brave and loving. I'm not so great with writing these reviews but 10/10 would recommend to any of my friends, and to anyone thinking about reading this, looking at the reviews.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa rees
  • Lisa rees
  • 03-30-22

What a book!!

This time travel romance is without a doubt the best I’ve read. The characters are well written and the story is engaging and had me hooked from the first chapter. Hearing Danny and Rosannas love evolve was both heartwarming and heartbreaking. I am frustrated now and will not know peace until I know how their amazing story ends! Will they finally get their happy ending?
Cannot wait for the next book and highly recommend anyone with a love of romance, time travel and the 1920’s era with some spice in tow grabs this and experiences it for themselves.
Thank you Ophelia for giving me the chance to fall headlong into Danny and rosannas world ❤️

.