1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $11.80

Buy for $11.80

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Separated at birth by a desperate nurse who loses a millionaire's son to cot death, twin boys grow up without any knowledge of the other.

Nat Cartwright lives with his middle-class birth parents and grows up to becomes a war hero in the Vietnam War before returning home to run for office in the Republican party.

Fletcher Davenport becomes the only son of the millionaire couple. After graduating from Yale, he builds a reputation as a prolific criminal defence lawyer before he too delves into politics as a Democrat.

Though their lives are entwined, and perfectly mirrored with tragedy and betrayal, neither men meet until one must defend the other for murder. A family saga of fate, political rivalry and extended lost family, perfect for fans of Jeffrey Archer’s other suspense filled thrillers.

Sons of Fortune is narrated by Michael Brandon, most famous for playing James Dempsey in the 1980’s television crime drama, "Dempsey and Makepeace". His extensive theatre career spans Broadway and the West End, where he played Jerry Springer in "Jerry Springer: the Opera" for the National Theatre.

Jeffrey Archer is a bestselling British author and former politician. He was educated at Oxford and went on to become a Member of Parliament, a Member of the House of Lords as well as the deputy chair of the Conservative Party. His political career ended in scandal and he turned to writing, where he has been published in over 250 countries.

He is perhaps most famous for the Clifton Chronicles and his blockbuster Kane and Abel which was number one on the New York Time's Bestseller list and inspired a popular miniseries starring Peter Strauss and Sam Neill.

After he was imprisoned for perjury in 2001, he wrote his highly acclaimed non-fiction series, Prison Diaries - Hell, Purgatory and Heaven - which were inspired by his experiences and loosely structured around Dante's Inferno.

©2021 SAGA Egmont (P)2021 SAGA Egmont

What listeners say about Sons of Fortune

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The US Version of Only Time Will Tell

A condensed version of the only time will tell series which was way too long. At least Jeffrey spared us a drawn out saga even though some cliff hangers were easily seen through. A simplistic ending. Not Jeffrey’s best and not a patch on Kane and Able.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rose
  • Rose
  • 06-07-22

Not his best by a long way

The synopsis sounded good, but it took a long time to get there. Far too much detail about American election process for my taste. I did persevere until the end, but felt tempted to give up several times. I have read and enjoyed the Clifton Chronicles and William Warwick, plus others and was disappointed by this one.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-03-22

A big disappointment

I was delighted to see a new Jeffery Archer novel as I have read with engagement and delight his others. This is a vast disappointment. The basis of a novel of intrigue twists and turns opens the book and that’s where it ends. The story is then one if trivial description, confusing flow of nothingness. The only recognisable fractures of Archers work are minute infiltrations from his previous novels. It is sad to see an accomplished author write such a flat book. I persevered to the end in hope of reward and closed thinking what was all that about. Please don’t waste your credits on this book. I hope the next William Warwick novel restores my faith in his work and he replaces this narrator though based on the quality of the content can be forgiven for such a flat performance.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-13-22

Not the strongest story let down by dull narration

This was a bit of a slog. I normally enjoy Archer but this one didn’t really get going until the final 3 hours. Definitely pandering to the the US market, the narration was monotone and lacked life. Save a credit and get something else!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-24-22

Plodding, Boring, Predictable, Most Disappointing

I am an ardent Jeffrey Archer fan who has enjoyed most of Mr Archer’s tales even when they are “far fetched”.
I kept waiting for this tale to pick up the pace,for the usual twists & turns which are the hallmark of his writing. I finally gave up. Bored out of my mind by the story & a reader who’s intonation remains nothing but flat, deadpan. I gave it the college try & held on until 6 hours before the end.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kevin
  • Kevin
  • 01-06-22

not sure about this book

this was the first time in all the 30 Archer books I have read where I almost gave up after the first 3 chapters. I found it very hard to understand the different characters. I thought it was his worst book, however in the end I did enjoy it.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Derek Walsh
  • Derek Walsh
  • 01-04-22

Boring To listen to

As a fan of Jeffery Archer I looked forward to the book… but I had to stop after forcing myself to listen to over 4 hours .., I is a rubbish story from the very start..,
Would not recommend this book….

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracey Hart
  • Tracey Hart
  • 12-17-21

Terrible Voice

I have read all of Jeffrey’s books and always enjoy them but using audible the voice can make or break a book. I am sure the story teller is a nice man but he really doesn’t have a voice for audible. There needs to be a sharpness to the voice and to build some drama. All very monotone and clearly done to attract the US market. Such a shame.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cathy Brown
  • Cathy Brown
  • 06-10-22

Predictable

Overall the story was disappointing in its blandness and predictability, exacerbated by the narrator’s style.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carol Gill
  • Carol Gill
  • 04-11-22

Boring

Characters are too simple and based on perfect stereo types
Plot is boring with limited drama. Most interesting piece was the war event but everything else trite
R performance was ok but not as good as others who are able to change voices for each character

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-09-22

great story

it was well read and intriguing up till the last pages. I would recommend it to anyone who likes Jeffrey Archer

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-21-22

excellent but long-winded

loved the plot but interminable political detail, interesting historical detail, revelation too unemotional to be realistic

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-12-22

Average

Promised a lot but didnt deliver. Confusing at times. Not his best work unfortunately.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Flintette
  • Flintette
  • 03-09-22

Ridiculously similar to the Clifton series

I have read and enjoyed the Clifton series by Jeffrey Archer but was really disappointed with this story as it was pretty much the same. I won't be reading any more from this author in future. If however you have never read a book from this author, I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jaki GT
  • Jaki GT
  • 02-28-22

The end ruined it

Well written though hard to follow the various characters at times. For me it would have been 4 stars but the end was seriously disappointing

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janette J Ryan
  • Janette J Ryan
  • 02-28-22

Enjoyable

It took me awhile to work out which twin was with which family.
Audible preview did not help.
I liked the fact that when the boys found out they were brothers, they didn’t whinge or whine or broadcast it to the world.
They considered their families and kept it to themselves.
Gaining governorship by the toss of a coin was not something I could agree too.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LG
  • LG
  • 02-24-22

it ok

Well, I finished it, but only because I thought something might be coming up to make more of the relationship of the twins, sadly no. There was little suspense either. The story only meanders, disappointing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-22-22

Excellent from start to finish

Wonderful story and brilliantly narrated. Should be made into a mini-series! Worth a listen - you will not be disappointed.