adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.47

Buy for $24.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

To fight evil, you must embrace evil.

The motto of Marine Sergeant Ronaldo Salvatore lives on in his son, Dominic, and his undercover team known as the Saints. With the support of LAPD Captain Zed Marks, the Saints embark on a mission to destroy the criminal organizations that have a stranglehold on Los Angeles.

Through brains, cunning, and sheer ruthlessness, the most powerful leader, Don Antonio Moretti, has risen from underdog to contender for the throne. He believes that only the Vega family of narcos stands in his way, but he has underestimated another underdog.

As the Morettis and Vegas slug it out, the Saints go outside the law to deliver the City of Angels from evil. In this three-way death match, the streets will run with blood before a victor ever emerges. 

©2021 by Nicholas Sansbury Smith (P)2021 by Blackstone Publishing

What listeners say about Sons of War 3: Sinners

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    471
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    474
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    429
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wow

I have read everything this author has written. Every series is fantastic; Hell Divers, the Extinction cycle, trackers, but this series is my favorite.. great edge of my seat, emotions goin up and down, yelling at the book kind of series. get these, you won't be disappointed. for reference I also read Galaxys edge and mhi

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Saints must Sin - unputdownable

Sinners is the third book in the superbly written Sons of War series of post-apocalyptic action thrillers by best-selling author Nicholas Sansbury Smith. After the emotionally devastating ending of the second book, Saints, Sinners picks up with a team of brave soldiers trying to stand up for the people of Los Angeles in a post-American second Civil War. Saints have to punish the sinners and to do that they must sin themselves. In this third entry we meet again favorite characters like Dominic, Moose and the ruthless Don Antonio Moretti.

Nicholas Sansbury Smith dedicates this book to award-winning and best-selling author Don Winslow and to his, or should I say, their fantastic narrator, Ray Porter. I dare to say that Mr. Sansbury Smith is on par with Don Winslow at this time and after three of his books, I am completely hooked on the story and hopelessly in love with all these flawed, but remarkable characters that he created for this series.

My love for the Sons of War series is clearly influenced in part by the absolutely outstanding performance delivered throughout the story by audiobooks industry legend Ray Porter. I actually can’t think of anyone else who could have pulled this off in a better way. Ray is a master at narration, he reads at a fast pace, he acts all the dialogues and he elevates the listening experience to the highest possible level with his talent for infusing the action with urgency and emotion.

Right now, Mr. Sansbury Smith is quickly climbing to my top spots of favorite authors out there. His writing is flawless, his characters feel alive and real and the events depicted in his stories are keeping my blood pressure up almost all the time. If you like action thrillers with a touch of post-apocalyptic drama stirred into them, you cannot miss out on the Sons of War series! Fans of Mario Puzo’s The Godfather, The Last Don or Don Winslow’s The Cartel trilogy will discover a new favorite author in Mr. Sansbury Smith.
If you liked this review, please vote Helpful below and find more of them here and on theAudiobookBlog.

I also post honest reviews at the author, narrator, or publisher's request, you can get in touch with me for more details.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Breathtaking

Just finished this and all I can say is wow! This is the best one of the series so far.

The third book sees the Saints ramping up the war against the mobs, specifically the Moretti family who have clawed their way to the top. Don Antonio Moretti has put millions of dollars bounty on the head of the Saints, which makes it harder for them to do their job. But with violence escalating all over the city who will come out on top?

Who would have known that a Post Apocalyptic story would work so well with a Mafia story!! The plot is told from the perspective of the Saints and the Moretti family and it's definitely a case of two sides of a coin. The Moretti family are evil, pure and simple, whereas the Saints try to be good but fighting this kind of evil requires you to go outside the law sometimes. Out of all three books so far, I found this one the hardest to put down as there was so much happening.

It was non stop from the get go. The Moretti family will stop at nothing to get what they want and they are causing chaos all over. They have important people in their pockets and are systematically wiping out the competition. The Saints meanwhile are trying to out fox them by destroying their merchandise. It was quite a ride reading it!!

Once again, this author shines with his characters. Don Antonio Moretti is a vile human, Vinnie Moretti I'm not too sure of. He has done evil but he doesn't enjoy it. Dom and the Saints are extremely well written and developed. They are flawed but you can't help but love them!!

Anyway, this book was amazing. Filled with action, intrigue, mobsters, cannibals, good and plenty of evil, it all adds up to a memorable read. There is twists and turns aplenty and so many edge of your seat moments that I was left reeling. I absolutely can not wait for the next in the series!!!

Ray Porter is simply a phenomenal narrator, no more needs to be said!!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pedal-to-the-Metal Action

Sinners is the third book in The Sons of War series, and definitely starts off with a bang. We're thrown into the drama instantly and Smith doesn't pull his foot from the accelerator for the rest of the book. It's weird to describe a book that starts off with a bang as also being a "slow starter" but, the way that this book was written was high intensity right from the beginning but it ratchets up throughout the rest of the book.

Smith is able to write a story that if you ignore the settings is a mob tale. And if you ignore the mafias is a post-apocalyptic tale. But when you throw them together like this, it doesn't feel like it would work, but wow does it. The two main families are at war while also trying to provide for the families under their protection. Think of it as the typical group you find in any typical post-apocalyptic book but ratcheted up to 11.

Sinners really shines a light on Smith's ability to create extremely dynamic characters. Each character in this has good and bad, it just depends on which side you stand on if they are actually "good" or "bad". Each family has a unique way of dealing with problems and specific people and it really shines in this one. Throw in the different side stories and this is one of the most unique apocalyptic series I've read in a long time.

Of course, a great audiobook isn't complete without great narration. And Ray Porter crushes this one out of the park. He is simply put, the best narrator for this series, full stop. I can't imagine any one else narrating this story and I'm glad that they've been together for all three books (so far).

I'm not always a fan of ongoing series, sometimes I feel like you need a little closure - but this one still has gas left in the tank. I think a SoW 4 is not only wanted, it's needed. I can't wait to see what happens to the characters and families as this series continues to grow and mature.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Taking the series up a notch!

Full disclosure.... I am a fan of NSS’s work. That being said, SoW was a series I enjoyed.... but did not love. This book changed that for me.. the action begins steady, but then slowly whines up like an air raid siren. Next thing you know you are sitting in your car at your destination at an idle, because you cannot get out until you hear what happens. This was a successful attempt to raise the bar. There better be a SoW4 or my life will be incomplete.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

NSS Reads Don Winslow

...Then writes one hell of a good post-apocalyptic fictional story by way of Winslow’s factual accounts of Mexican cartels. Ray Porter speaks the truth.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G

Love the character development, story, and Ray Porter is an absolute legend at telling the story.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Holy cow!!! Amazing!!! better then the first two!!

What a phenomenal third entry into a series I can't believe hasn't been opted for television yet. Nick delivers again and Ray's narration is out of this world with these characters! Can't wait for a 4th entry when it comes!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book rocked

This booked rocked, I lost sleep listening to this book, can’t wait for the next one, thanks Nick

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best stories ever

Wow, this was great. The story combined with the narration of Ray Porter is an outstanding combination. Please hurry up with the next story.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-02-22

mafia gang warfare with a twist.

Another fantastic book by Nicholas Sansbury Smith.
A post war mafia trying to rule the city against rivals and police.
Many great characters and twists.
Entertaining from first to last page.