adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $34.22

Buy for $34.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

*Chosen as a 2020 Kids’ Indie Next pick * A Locus Reading List recommendation * An Andre Norton Nebula Award Finalist*

"Shveta Thakrar's prose is as beautiful as starlight." (New York Times best-selling author Holly Black)

This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy.

The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be “normal”. But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star’s help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago.

Sheetal’s quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family’s champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens - and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all.

Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor. 

©2020 Shveta Thakrar (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Star Daughter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Everything that makes YA awful and so much more.

Whiney over dramatic main character who throws random tantrums...check. Ridiculous over the top flowery language that only serves to leave you more confused to what is going on..check. Adults who have unrealistic expectations of "normalcy" that they force on the "misunderstood" child...check. Gag inducing unrealistic love interests...check The main character believing that everyone else's needs, wants or desire's are so petty compared to their own and everyone is out to get her, but she doesn't REALLY care because they just don't understand.....check check CHECK.
I didn't finish this book, didn't even make it to the 3rd chapter before i started skipping to see if this book ever improves. it doesn't. i will be getting my credit back as soon as i can. This book is worse than trash it is an utter insult to real teen girls everywhere.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant magical coming of age book!

Sheetal is nearing her 17th birthday, this half-star, half-human, is trying to find her place among her peers. The story that unfolds is one of magic, music, and love. Thakrar weaves a beautiful storyline that reads like poetry throughout this lovely coming of age book. Sheetal’s destiny is unique and mesmerizing. Nankani’s narration flows so well with the writing that the story and characters really come to life. I highly recommend this book and recording. There isn’t a thing I feel needs criticism. I am hoping the story of the Star Duaghter May continue.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wondrous and uplifting

I was looking forward to this book for ages because I loved the concept of a girl who was a star, but the reality was even better than I had imagined. I loved Sheetal’s journey, her agency, her community, and the way that this story focused on empathy and hope. The starry court was so cool, too! If you want a book that leaves you feeling good, this is a great choice!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

hard to get through

3 stars 🌟 it was interesting but there was alot of chaotic stuff going on in the book and I slowly lost interest. Also the Grandma's a Bi+<#

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

not too bad

I heard absolutely no praises for this book.
I don't think it was bad but I also feel like the author was trying to cram a lot into some of the scenes.

did I hate this book no absolutely not....it was different but it's not one I would suggest to someone.

mainly because half the time I couldn't stand the main character, but that's just because indecisive people in book just annoy me.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nothing is as it seems

This was a beautiful story of a girl who's mother is a Star (as in the night sky) and her father is human. As she gets rapidly closer to her 17th birthday she begins to feel the pull to go to the stars herself. As she learns everything isn't as it seems she struggles to find herself and her place both on Earth and the Heavens.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A welcome distraction

I was looking for a “light and refreshing” story to read as a “palate cleanser” between different book series. I found this and read the description and was intrigued. This book turned out to be AMAZING! I could loose myself in the story, see the colors, hear the music, taste the flavors. The author, very intuitively and expertly, merged Indian folklore with modern life. I’m left with a longing for more! I’m looking forward to reading more works of art from this author in the future!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sonia Nayyar
  • Sonia Nayyar
  • 09-28-21

A good gateway to stories about South Asian myths

I was excited for this one. We're in an prosperous time of diverse YA fiction and off the back of the likes of Children of Blood and Bones etc I was so eager to read something that reflected my identity as a person of SA decent. I have to admit, I was little underwhelmed. The story didn't quite encapsulate the epic nature of the heavens and cosmic courtplay of the gods rooted in the stories that I grew up listening to.

The narrator also left me chewing my lip. I know shes also of SE heritage so I just didnt get why some hindi words were mispronounced or delivered in a way of someone who at times isnt familiar with the language. Not to compare but when you listen to the books such as Children of Blood and Bones or even The Unkindness of Ghosts, the narrators immerse themselves in the accents and inflections of the language they are narrating. So it was a little disappointing to listen to someone who didnt quite go the whole hog with pronunciation.

All in all it's entertaining and I'll always champion diverse writers and stories so do give this a listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela
  • Angela
  • 01-01-21

Magical and unique

I purchased Star Daughter on Audible and can only praise Soneela’s narration.
For me this wonderful book was escapism of the best kind, introducing me to a whole new world of mythology and magic. I was transported to a starry realm, which was not only exquisitely rendered, but also made me think deeply about identity and the strength we sometimes need just to allow us to be ourselves.
I highly recommend the audible version of Star Daughter to anyone whom is searching for a magical and unique read!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-10-20

A wonderful Hindu mythology inspired starry story

I loved this! It had me hooked at the premise of a half human half star main character, the Hindu inspired astrology and beautiful 'stars' were definitely unique and I appreciated the diverse cast of South East Asian characters and a SEA myself. I throughly enjoyed the unique star mythology and lore. The pacing can be slow at times and there is a teen romance, although characters weren't memorable but still enjoyable to read/listen to.

Do not expect high fantasy levels of detail into the world building, it's more of a YA contemporary with family dramas into a setting of a starry celestial court.