• Steamforged Sorcery

  • Steamforged Sorcery, Book 1
  • By: Actus
  • Narrated by: Peter Berkrot
  • Length: 11 hrs and 25 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (48 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Great War ravaged the face of the Earth many years ago....

In the years that passed, society rebuilt, mixing machinery and magic to form something new. Great blimps took to the sky, belching steam and smoke, as metal city-states sprouted like weeds below.

Angel, a daring adventurer in the pursuit of powerful magic, scours the desert endlessly, in search of ancient magic. When he’s given an offer he can’t refuse, he finds out that he’s not the only one seeking lost knowledge. Others also seek the same power, but their methods leave cities razed in acrid smoke and the innocent in their wake. 

In a race against a group who has lived in the shadows since the Great War, Angel will have to determine just how far he’s willing to go to accomplish his goals. 

Experience the start of a Magitech LitRPG series by Actus, the author of Cleaver's Edge. Set in a steampunk fantasy world, it's perfect for fans of Arcane and Final Fantasy.

©2022 Aethon Books (P)2022 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Steamforged Sorcery

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love this book so much

This book was so good, this has too be one of actus best books. Streamforged sorcery book 2 better be coming soon. The narrator did so good on this series is astonishing.

Like I said the narrator did so good, all the voices were different, there was no huffing and puffing in my ear, I could tell every voice apart by a Longshot. Peter changed his voice so much and he has such a variety of voices that's its kinda incredible. The narration was a 5 for me.

Overall this book was a 5, the performance was a 5, the story was a 5.
I think that this book was actually perfect, there was some stuff I didn't like but this was a unique series and I loved it.
The performance was good, the character progression was so good, the Mc got stronger and became a better person with and changed throughout the book, The side characters really changed and I loved it. The world building was good and the desert and the way its explained is super unique, the way the world is explained and the magic system was awesome. Alot of stuff about this book was performed right too the Tee. Story was good, I loved where the Mc originated and the story wasn't lacking whatsoever. I loved this book way more than I thought I would. Overall was a 5 and I'll explain throughout the review.

There's alot of fighting in this book and I like that alot, It's like a perfect ratio to where you never feel like the series is getting boring, just listening too the fight was a treat in itself, with the abilities the Mc has the fighting was super good. I have too say the Mc having a mechanical arm is so cool, paired with all the other stuff he's good at the abilities in this book are truly unique. The side characters were also cool but not as cool as angel.

The characters weren't annoying at all, angel wasn't a suckup and I related with him. The side characters weren't annoying either, the only thing I didn't like is how Vanessa's "convictions" almost got them killed. The interactions with all the characters are good, it was like they had a mind of there own, The characters really had depth and I really liked that. I feel like actus did such a great job in this series. This book is also 1 pov the entire book.

I love the premise of this book, it's so unique and the setting the book is in Is so good, you barely ever get books where the Mc is in a desert and I feel like actus wrote that part perfectly. The idea tho... is so awesome, I wonder where actus got the idea too make this series, the way it mixes with new world and old world is perfect and I think the way that angels uses his powers and skill is just so good for a series like this.
I honestly wish this book was longer, I loved it that much.
If I had to say the middle was the best part of this book than the last than the first.
I think I've explained more than enough too why this book deserves the rating I'm giving it. I have alot more stuff too add.
I feel like there's not alot of books like this, with most litrpg books it's not the same but it's usually based in a midevil world or something like that and the author does what he wants with the story, This one isn't like that. Actus has no baseline, this world is something new too fantasy, and hopefully alot more authors make books like this.

I hope alot of people enjoy this book as much as I did. I can't wait for book 2 than I won't be able too wait for book 3. Actus thank you for making such a good book.

Edit. I also want too add how down too earth angel is he's not dumb like most mcs. I also like how it was unpredictable, In most books if a "friend" dies you can always expect them too come back. A very good example of this is in supermage, he went through like 3 books but he still got Sarah back..
Well this book is different. There wasn't "he died, then he came back" i also like the betrayal because it also wasn't like "he betrayed me but I can still be friends with him". I feel like more books need too start doing this, We get it you think that it adds realism but it really doesn't. Making your side character almost die and then making us think they're dead then bringing them back off the knifes edge with a colored coffee pencil isn't doing anything but making your books predictable. Actus did a very good job on this book and I love how he didn't follow what I just said.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow, I even liked the antagonist!

I picked this up because I enjoyed the other series that Actus is working on "Cleaver's Edge". And wow, just about everything narrated by Peter Berkrot makes it better!
I immediately fell in love with Angel (the MC) and the premise of the world in this litRPG. And soon I fell in love with Vanessa and rest of the cast of characters. I even liked the antagonist Silver! And that's saying something! 'Cause an author, that can do that is special! What a story!
So I'm pretty sure that you're gonna need this audio version in your library!

“I'm pretty sure that I can see one of your ribs." "Then don't get it dirty.”

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mix of Final Fantasy and Zelda Breath of the Wild

I loved this book. It's world building is amazing and I usually do not enjoy desert settings. It felt like something set in a Final Fantasy game for most of the book and then it suddenly switched to a feeling like Zelda Breath of the Wild. The story is highly entertaining and was one I couldn't stop listening to. Angel is an excellent protagonist and following him on this adventure was well worth the listen. Highly recommended!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A LitRPG with a Goal

There's a ton of works in the genre centered around world building or saving the world. Steamforged Sorcery takes a more traditional approach with an escort plotline that doesn't deviate for silly reasons. Actus sticks to the plan and delivers a solid book with a fun magic system. Give it a go if you're tired of the standard fare.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great genre piece!!

I haven't written a review in awhile, but this story was worth the buy. the author was able to thread the needle of litrpg inclusion without beating the reader over the head with stats. the method of the litrpg components introduction is novel and actually makes sense, adding to the storys feel and mystery.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nice!

Loves it! Can't wait for the next book to find out if Angel reunites with Vanessa and Silver. And to see what adventures await the group.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This was a fun read!

I got this from Aethon Books and I've enjoyed the entire book. The only negative that I can really state is that I have to wait for the next book to come out until September. The protagonist is thoroughly likeable, and the way the characters interact with one another is engaging and entertaining. Magic and fantastical technology combined with a small dose of LIT RPG and plenty of action kept my attention thoroughly. I would recommend this book, and look forward to the next one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ballamannin
  • Ballamannin
  • 06-29-22

Magical Steampunk had plenty to offer

I’ve been listening to a lot LitRPG material and enjoying it but I think I needed more of a break to refresh my engagement with the genre. However, I started this and got drawn right in, the fact it wasn’t ‘high fantasy’ changed the context and made it feel fresh. The development of the steampunk magic elements works well as the main character develops which is nice, and the long term goal they have in relation to magic will be a good ongoing theme of books to follow. The situation the characters find themselves in are still reasonably formulaic but some of the solutions and outcomes are interesting. The narration is clear and articulate, with some simple accents to make key characters stand out, not overdone. I will be getting any second book to listen to.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Morris
  • Morris
  • 06-12-22

Great story

This story has a solid plot and an interesting magic system. I can't wait for book 2.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer Deeley
  • Jennifer Deeley
  • 05-26-22

Fantastic

A great story, love the main character. The performance really brings the book to life.