• Still Lives

  • The Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick that is the perfect summer read!
  • By: Maria Hummel
  • Narrated by: Tavia Gilbert
  • Length: 9 hrs and 35 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.08

Buy for $25.08

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A Reese Witherspoon book club pick

 A Sunday Times crime club pick

 Winner of Stylist book wars

 The Pool's december bedtime book club pick

 Shortlisted for amazon's best mystery/thriller of the year 

As the party of the year gets underway, celebrities and patrons pour into the Rocque Museum to see Kim Lord - L.A.'s artist of the moment - stabbed, strangled, shot, and beaten. It's the opening night of Still Lives, Kim's new collection of shockingly graphic self-portraits, in which she impersonates the victims of America's most famous homicides, from Nicole Brown Simpson to the Black Dahlia.
 

The crowd eagerly await Kim's arrival, but she fails to appear at the gala. Among those gathered is Maggie Richter, a museum editor whose ex, Greg Shaw Ferguson, is in a relationship with Kim. When Kim is declared officially missing, and Greg is arrested on suspicion of murder, Maggie is drawn into an investigation of her own, haunted by the thought that Kim has suffered the same terrible fate as the women in her paintings. 

Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Sharp Objects and Big Little Lies.

©2018 Maria Hummel (P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic Reviews

"A thrilling mystery... still keeps us up at night, it's that good." (Reese Witherspoon)

"A gripping and entertaining mystery, and a biting cultural critique that seeks to understand our obsession with the violent deaths of beautiful women." (Bustle)

"A taut thriller...she writes a hell of an ending." (LA Review of Books)

What listeners say about Still Lives

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth The Credit

This was a good listen. It did drag a little but it was good. The twist was a surprise to me. I would absolutely recommend!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stephen Gregory
  • Stephen Gregory
  • 09-27-20

Kept listening for it to improve but ... 🤨

Ugh! The Narration. Could have possibly saved the plot that skipped around, was dull & long-winded and difficult to follow. Instead the narration made it an almost unbearable listen. Again. ugh. The art world concept interesting but barely accessible to the average punter .. this could have been a redeeming feature but....ugh