adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $23.95

Buy for $23.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the critically acclaimed author of Train I Ride and Echo’s Sister comes a moving story of friendship between two girls looking for some happiness in a world that can be a little cruel. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead, Ali Standish, and Erin Entrada Kelly.

Twelve-year-old Juillet is preparing for the worst summer ever. She and her mom are staying in the seaside neighborhood of Ocean Park, California, for a month, where her mom will be working at the local hospital and Juillet will be on her own, like always.

Her dad is off in Europe with his new girlfriend, and her best friend, Fern.... Well, Juiller isn’t allowed to talk to Fern anymore. Fern took the blame for Juillet’s goth-girl clothes and “not-real” fears, like sharks and rip currents and the number three.

Then Juillet meets Summer, a local surfer girl who knows the coolest people and places around town. With free-spirited and adventurous Summer, Juillet begins to come out of her shell and face the things weighing her down. But when Summer reveals her own painful secret, it’s Juillet’s turn to be the strong and supportive friend.

Named one of Bank Street College of Education's Best Children’s Books of the Year!

©2020 Paul Mosier (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Summer and July

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nice job

Okay, so I wrote this novel, and I was excited to hear how it sounded. I always feel like I am writing for the ear, and hope that my reader is a slow reader, so I was glad to learn that Harper was doing an audio version. I think Hope Newhouse does a great job, especially with narrator Juillet. Summer I meant to have zero drama or snark in her voice, 100% irrepressible and buoyant. Also there is more drama in the voice generally than what I intended as a writer, but that’s probably a convention of audiobooks. I read aloud as a poet reads aloud, and Hope reads as an actress does. She made me cry at my own words, and laugh. Thanks, Hope, for a job well done.🏄🏼‍♀️

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ignore Alien Ordres

Pretty much perfect book with perfect narration, recommended for teens, tweens and whomever appreciates excellent, hilarious writing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DN
  • 06-30-20

A total delight!

“Summer and July” is tremendously enjoyable on all levels. It is an exquisitely crafted story of how an unexpected friendship brings lively, funny and also painfully challenging adventures leading to Juillet’s (July’s) healing and self-understanding. Read with sincerity and humor, this story of two 12 year old girls, July from Michigan and Summer who lives and surfs in Santa Monica, engages and delights. Plus there is the glorious setting (and slang!) of the surfing culture. The narrator captures the anger, surprise, internal wrangling, pathos and tentative and ultimately full-blown joy of July as she recounts her epic month in California, as well as the voices of the many characters July meets and comes to appreciate (and love) along the way. I highly recommend this audible version of a tender coming of age story.