• Sunday Silence

  • A Novel
  • By: Nicci French
  • Narrated by: Beth Chalmers
  • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (533 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It started with Monday. But it doesn't end with Sunday.

Listen to Sunday Silence, the new novel in the series that Louise Penny calls "fabulous, unsettling, and riveting" - and brace yourself for the breathtaking series finale in summer 2018.

Lover of London, gifted psychologist, frequent police consultant - Frieda Klein is many things. And now she's a person of interest in a murder case. A body has been discovered in the most unlikely and horrifying of places: beneath the floorboards of Frieda's house.

The corpse is only months old, but the chief suspect appears to have died more than seven years ago. Except as Frieda knows all too well, he's alive and well and living in secret. And it seems he's inspired a copycat....

As the days pass and the body count rises, Frieda finds herself caught in a fatal tug-of-war between two killers: one who won't let her go and another who can't let her live.

Crackling with suspense, packed with emotion, Sunday Silence is a psychological thriller perfect for fans of Elizabeth George and Paula Hawkins.

©2018 Joined-Up Writing (P)2018 WF Howes

Critic Reviews

"[Narrator Beth] Chalmers owns the voice of the controversial and keenly observant psychotherapist Frieda Klein.... Chalmers uses her deep portfolio of British accents to voice men and women good and evil, and gives a Ukrainian accent to Frieda's friend, Joseph. Chalmers's performance keeps the listener engaged through the ups and downs of the plot." (AudioFile)  

What listeners say about Sunday Silence

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    289
  • 4 Stars
    162
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    330
  • 4 Stars
    119
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    259
  • 4 Stars
    146
  • 3 Stars
    60
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh So Good! But Will There Be More??

I love this series but we’ve hit the seventh day. There are no more days left…great characters and story line. The narrator is perfect! If you haven’t read the other books in the series, start at the beginning!! You won’t regret it.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An appropriate end to a long week

I love the Frieda Klein stories. Frieda irritates the he'll out of me, but I also learn from her. I missed a strong Carlson presence in this book. The transformation of Joseph into a real father made up for it. Complicated characters, and we're left to wonder if Frieda can live with the havoc her obsession with justice wreaks on other lives.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My Favorite

Loved every word. The narrator is amazing. The conclusions are always a surprise. The characters have tremendous depth.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars

And more to come

Love a story that doesn't fully resolve. But could it have ended any other way? Brilliant.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Meh

I just couldn’t get into it
It wasn’t worth finishing for me
I like the narrators voice she was pretty good

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Meh

It did not really do much for me. Frankly wish I had my credit back.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not so good as a stand alone novel

This was my first book by Nicci French. Although it was listed as the7th book in the series, I did not realize it would be better to start from the beginning of the series. Several authors write a number of books using the same characters but they still hold up as individual novels. This book took me a couple hours to get the characters straight as there are a few of them. Once I had that figured out the story was more interesting but I was let down by the ending. From what I can tell this is the last book of the series??? However, I really do not feel the complete story was wrapped up. There are still BIG quested that have been unanswered. I do not recommend this as a stand alone book and if this truly is the the last book in the series I would be extremely disappointed with the conclusion of the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I hope there will be another Frieda Klien book!!

I don't want to be left hanging! such a good book to listen to on my commute.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great read

I really love this series..they are all like family the narration is excellent as well

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Total waste of time

Here's the thing about this series - five of the books are great. But the "Friday" & "Sunday" books are dreadful. This one is particularly ridiculous and irritating. The number of absolutely inane decisions made by the people in this story is unbelievable, and Frieda Klein continues to be one of the most irritating central characters I have ever encountered. I can only assume one of the two authors (yes, Nicci French is two people) is good at developing plots, and that author did not have much to do with this book. I finished it only to complete the series, but I can tell you now that it does not really wrap up anything, including Dean Reeves - who is totally unnecessary to any of these books except the first one.. I truly hope this is the end of the Frieda Klein books - but if not, it is still the end of my reading them.