1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Ten Masterpieces of Music  By  cover art

Ten Masterpieces of Music

By: Harvey Sachs
Narrated by: Paul Bellantoni
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $34.99

Buy for $34.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this magisterial volume, Harvey Sachs, author of the highly acclaimed biography Toscanini, takes listeners into the heart of 10 great works of classical music - works that have endured because they were created by composers who had a genius for drawing music out of their deepest wellsprings. These masters - Mozart and Beethoven; Schubert, Schumann, Berlioz, Verdi, and Brahms; Sibelius, Prokofiev, and Stravinsky - communicated their life experiences through music, and through music they universalized the intimate. 

By expanding our perceptions of these 10 pieces - composed in the years between 1784 and 1966 - Sachs, in lush, exquisite prose, invites us to consider why music stimulates, disturbs, exalts, and consoles us. He has lived with these masterpieces for a lifetime, and his descriptions of them and the dramatic lives of the composers who wrote them bring a heightened dimension to our musical perceptions - whether we’re casual listeners, students, professional musicians, or anyone in between.

©2021 Harvey Sachs (P)2021 Dreamscape Media, LLC

What listeners say about Ten Masterpieces of Music

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.