• The Accusation

  • From Australia's Queen of Domestic Noir
  • By: Wendy James
  • Narrated by: Casey Withoos
  • Length: 8 hrs and 37 mins
  • 3.0 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.81

Buy for $22.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Somebody is lying.

After 18-year-old Ellie Canning is found shivering and barely conscious on a country road, her bizarre story of kidnap and escape enthralls the nation. Who would do such a thing? And why?

Local drama teacher Suzannah Wells, once a minor celebrity, is new to town. Suddenly, she's in the spotlight again, accused of being the monster who drugged and bound a teenager in her basement. As stories about her past emerge, even those closest to her begin to doubt her innocence.

And Ellie? The media can't get enough of her. She's a girl-power icon, a social-media star. But is she telling the truth?

A powerful exploration of the fragility of trust and the loss of innocence, from the author of The Golden Child and The Mistake.

Praise

"James brilliantly takes this historical true crime and updates it to the internet age." (Cameron Woodhead, Sydney Morning Herald)

"This satisfying novel perfectly captures our current world, saturated by social media, obsessed by beautiful victims and easily identified villains, and quick to judge and condemn.... This is a gripping novel with plenty of twists, underpinned by acute observations about society." (Good Reading Magazine)

"The Accusation will grip you from page one.... Intelligent, suspenseful, and masterfully paced, with a killer twist in the tail, The Accusation is domestic noir at its best, perfect for fans of Adele Parks, Caroline Overington and Liane Moriarty." (Better Reading)

"The Accusation is Australian crime writing at its best, showcasing the great talent of Australian women writers out there today. It deserves all the hype! A brilliant book, very highly recommended." (But Books are Better blog)

"The way the book was structured really gave it an inventive feel.... Highly recommended." (Katrina Ferguson and Kathryn Ryan, Radio New Zealand)

©2019 Wendy James (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Accusation

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 2.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-02-19

Woohoo congratulations

Where do you start, at the beginning.
From start to finish...I listened to it driving and to my sitting position house ,
Sat on the speed limit even slowed down.
Each character from Mary to the others in this storyline are very different.
how easy it is for accusations to be.
A MUST READ BOOK
,

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Flick
  • Flick
  • 06-09-19

loved it.

fantastic book, could not turn it off. definitely worth a listen or read (great narrator as well)

1 person found this helpful