1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.81

Buy for $15.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The gloriously funny comfort read from the author of A Grand Old Time You’re never too old to live dangerously.... 

All Georgie Turner wants is to keep her family together. But with her daughter growing up fast, her sister married to a man Georgie hates, and their aging aunt getting more and more outrageous, nothing’s simple.   

So when her brother-in-law makes his biggest mistake yet, Georgie sees the chance to reunite the ladies in her life. And after a little persuasion, three generations of Turner women head off on a very unusual road trip. Georgie’s confident that some sun, sea and a bottle or two of prosecco will make this an adventure they’ll never forget.   

What could possibly go wrong?   

A gorgeously fun and uplifting novel about living your life to the full, whatever your age. Perfect for fans of Dawn French and Fern Britton.  

©2019 Judy Leigh (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

Praise for Judy Leigh: "Lovely...a book that assures that life is far from over at 70." (Cathy Hopkins, best-selling author of The Kicking the Bucket List)

"Brilliantly funny, emotional and uplifting." (Miranda Dickinson)

"Brimming with warmth, humour and a love of life...a wonderful escapade." (Fiona Gibson, best-selling author of The Woman Who Upped and Left)

What listeners say about The Age of Misadventure

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A bit disappointing

I usually LOVE Judy’s books, but this one fell short. These were not the strong, intelligent, kind, loving women full of moxie that I’ve come to expect. One was a disrespectful, arrogant brat, one an emotionally abused woman who didn’t want to lose her abuser & one who wouldn’t stand up to the other two! Nanny was the breath of fresh air (eventually). The last chapter was redemptive & included the key mindset that I think the book was intending, but it was a frustrating read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great little story

this book is a simple story. mindless listening I guess. what I like about this book and others by this author is they are about older people. im closer to 60yrs and just enjoy books that include fun life still to come.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

slow but good

It's a good read, but seemed very slow for awhile. Not quite "old girls network" but still enjoyed it. second reading, it's great!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Fun and frustrating…

This is the first book by this author that I didn’t completely live. For some reason the characters were just more annoying than endearing and I found myself mentally yelling at them for their actions. I did however really liked the story. There were definitely some laugh-out-loud moments sprinkled throughout. I wish though that the main characters had been easier to like.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jackie
  • Jackie
  • 03-17-21

Delightfully Different!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The characters were well drawn & believable. A slightly zany plot but so much of a ‘feel good’ factor & ideal for the low periods of lockdown. Recommend it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-16-21

Good but flawed...

Good story, well written, entertaining, amusing, good narrator....but...far fetched in the way Georgie so easily slips the police guards ( more than once!!) and how often she decides to withold info from the police that would sort everything out. And how on earth does the police not catch a guy who is entering and leaving a building being watched by them for him!! Of course if they acted rationally the story would be over! Makes it a bit irritating but it's good points manage to outweigh the silly happenings.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NellMcMH
  • NellMcMH
  • 10-28-21

Strangely irritating

Really well.read and an imaginative plot line, but so many bizarre decisions taken by cast members ended up feeling like devices to move the story forward rather than anything a person would rationally do, I ended up simply waiting for the end

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-01-21

A nice and enjoyable story.

Very easy listening to, got me through some cold winter afternoons. Thought story dragged a little in places but overall I would recommend. Relax and enjoy

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hazel
  • Hazel
  • 12-30-20

Just Brilliant

I absolutely loved the story. I was crying with laughter at Nan and then the story would pull on your heartstrings..
Judy Leigh's books are a delight..
amazing author.
So easy to listen to and, the narrator was brilliant. If you don't read this book you are missing out on a good time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Meerkat  "carol"
  • Meerkat "carol"
  • 10-20-20

Mesmerised

This is an amazing book and so exciting from start to finish. Fantastic, fun,laughter wow

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JEM
  • JEM
  • 12-04-19

Brilliant!!

It's the most enjoyable book I've listened to in a long time. Every character is an absolute joy.
It's a lovely story that is thoroughly entertaining.