1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Arc  By  cover art

The Arc

By: Tory Henwood Hoen
Narrated by: Mary Elizabeth Kelly
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $25.51

Buy for $25.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"This debut novel from Hoen, a Brown University graduate who’s worked both in the branding world and as a journalist, treads the usual romance-novel ground in a fresh way. She’s helped by a strong reading from Mary Elizabeth Kelly, equally adept as Ursula, Rafael and the stern Dr. Vidal, who runs The Arc."–The Providence Journal

"Narrator Mary Elizabeth Kelly's range is superb in this thought-provoking rom-com about finding one's soulmate."–AudioFile Magazine

For fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid, Sally Rooney, and Rebecca Serle, Tory Henwood Hoen's The Arc is a smart, high concept love story that asks: is it possible to optimize our most intimate relationships?

LOVE, DISRUPTED

Thirty-five-year-old Ursula Byrne, VP of Strategic Audacity at a branding agency in Manhattan, is successful, witty, whip-smart, and single. She’s tried all the dating apps, and let’s just say: she’s underwhelmed by her options. You’d think that by now someone would have come up with something more bespoke; a way for users to be more tailored about who and what they want in a life partner–how hard could that be?

Enter The Arc: a highly secretive, super-sophisticated matchmaking service that uses a complex series of emotional, psychological and physiological assessments to architect partnerships that will go the distance. The price tag is high, the promise ambitious–a level of lifelong compatibility that would otherwise be unattainable. In other words, The Arc will find your ideal mate.

Ursula is paired with forty-two-year-old lawyer Rafael Banks. From moment one, this feels like the electric, lasting love they’ve each been seeking their whole adult lives. But as their relationship unfolds in unanticipated ways, the two begin to realize that true love is never a sure thing. And the arc of a relationship is never predictable...even when it's fully optimized. 

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press.

©2022 Tory Henwood Hoen (P)2022 Macmillan Audio
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

More from the same

Author

Narrator

What listeners say about The Arc

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fresh and Compelling

The author took a different look not only at dating in the digital world, but how people can rise above the dissonance and really examine themselves and how they relate to others.

It was such a pleasurable read and I look forward to more from this author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely Read

A wonderful book! Never a dull moment. It falls perfectly into a rare book gap: not too heavy or depressing but not fluff. It somehow manages to be both fun and enjoyable and also thought provoking

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Relationship angst

You know that friend who wants to talk about her relationship angst 24/7? This is that. Twelve hours of it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good not Great

To be clear, this is not a story about a futuristic dating service. This is a story about a 35-year-old female navigating all parts of her life, including love, her career, and her overall happiness….the dating service is just one part of her journey.

It’s well-written with great character development, but the plot itself is a little flat/repetitive at times. The main character is both flawed and perfect, which can be annoying. That said, it’s a unique storyline if you’re looking for something that’s not ‘more of the same’.