• The Battle for Roar

  • The Land of Roar, Book 3
  • By: Jenny McLachlan
  • Narrated by: Billy Ashcroft
  • Length: 6 hrs and 47 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.26

Buy for $15.26

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The final book in the epic and best-selling children’s fantasy series that will make you believe in magic.....

Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell's How to Train Your Dragon, Michelle Harrison's A Pinch of Magic, as well as classic children's fantasy adventures, Narnia and Jumanji. 

Rose and Arthur are back in Roar, on a voyage that takes them further than they’ve ever been before: beyond The End.

It’s an amazing adventure - full of secrets, surprises and fairies with fangs - but then a mysterious storm changes everything.

Shipwrecked on a strange island, they make a shocking discovery.... Could this be the end of Roar?

Jenny McLachlan is the author of several acclaimed teen novels including Flirty Dancing, Stargazing for Beginners and Truly, Wildly, Deeply. Before Jenny became a writer, she was head of English in a secondary school; she now loves visiting schools as an author and delivering funny and inspiring talks and workshops.

The Land of Roar series is Jenny’s debut for listeners of eight to 12.

©2021 Jenny McLachlan and Ben Mantle (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"This funny, captivating story is filled with the painful pangs of growing up and the transporting qualities of imagination." (Imogen Russell-Williams, Guardian)

"A vividly imagined adventure...full of heart, humour and a terrifying villain." (Fiona Noble, Bookseller)

"This is proof, not that it’s needed, that Jenny McLachlan is a writer of enormous heart and versatility. I’m a really big fan." (Phil Earle, award-winning author)

What listeners say about The Battle for Roar

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela Tyreman
  • Angela Tyreman
  • 08-31-21

Amazing

I hope there will be another book as really enjoyed listening to all 3 books
Can’t wait to hear more about roar

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MR D A BAYLIS
  • MR D A BAYLIS
  • 03-25-22

THE SECOND BEST BOOKM I’VE READ IN AGES

This is a really good book if you have read the first one and I’m exited to read the next one.

I would recommend it to anyone over the age of about nine
But it is definitely up my top favourite books I’ve read

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rebecca hill
  • Rebecca hill
  • 07-26-21

Amazing love this series

Amazing one of the best series as ever in my opinion good 👍👍👍 awesome cool

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel dunn
  • Rachel dunn
  • 07-22-21

Good story

It is a great story it was great for my children who love it great !

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eleanor
  • Eleanor
  • 03-29-22

Great 👍

Oliver James EWENS I am going out for free play with the app makers and it is very exciting

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss Ann Alston
  • Miss Ann Alston
  • 01-23-22

bad narrator

Good

narrator was giving them different attitudes to other books especially win

shame geuse

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for HeidiJ
  • HeidiJ
  • 11-26-21

Couldn't get through it

The change in narrator totally ruined the series. Every time the narrator pronounced says instead of sez, my eyes rolled. The transitions between chapters was awful as well. Get the print edition if you want to know the end of the story. This is just a waste of your money / credit.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karla
  • Karla
  • 11-01-21

What happened to the narrator!?

Great story. Poor narration.

The first two book were narrated well (minus croaky’s voice), this book is narrated so poorly. It’s lacklustre and boring; the chapter numbers are read out at the end of each chapter- without a pause. This ruins any sense of suspense.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mr jon p saunders
  • mr jon p saunders
  • 10-13-21

another great story, but let down by the reader

this is another great roar story. takes a while to get going, but really hits its stride as it gets to the final act. However, while the first two books were narrated perfectly, this narration is lifeless and very weak... there are even a number of mispronounced words and phrases that suggest this was a rushed production.

hoping for better on book 4

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for rachael elixabeth kirkham
  • rachael elixabeth kirkham
  • 10-03-21

Another great story, what happened 2 the narrator?

we have loved the stories of Arthur and Rose's adventures in Roar, but the narration of the 1sr 2 books was awesome this is really lack lustre in comparison. not sure what happened with the editing but the chapter ends and the narrator reads "chapter x" as if it was the next word in a sentence from the last chapter. No pause at all to think about what happened, any suspense is ruined by it. Really spoiled it.