• The Bear's Blade

  • The Whale Road Chronicles, Book 5
  • By: Tim Hodkinson
  • Narrated by: Rycharde Everley
  • Length: 13 hrs and 32 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (23 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $23.99

Buy for $23.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Einar must take back control of his destiny in this thrilling Viking adventure.

Although the rightful Jarl of Orkney, Einar is not yet strong enough to overcome his rival, King Eirik. Einar and the Wolf Coats raid the pagan ceremony that will confirm Eirik's power, but due to his injured sword hand, Einar fails to kill Eirik and he and his men must flee. They seek the protection of the King of the English. In exchange for his help, the crew must undertake a perilous mission: sail to Brittany and bring a renowned scholar back to England.

But Brittany is besieged by Viking hordes, and the scholar is the prisoner of a legendary Viking warrior known as the Bear. To succeed, Einar must infiltrate the Bear's stronghold. But is a man who cannot wield a sword capable of being a true Viking warrior? With his whole future at stake, can Einar prove his worth—and make it back alive?

©2022 Tim Hodkinson (P)2022 W F Howes

Critic Reviews

"A brilliantly written historical adventure which will appeal to fans of Bernard Cornwell, George R.R. Martin and especially Theodore Brun." (Historical Novel Association)

"A gripping action adventure like the sagas of old; and once finished, you just want to go back and read it all over again." (Melisende's Library)

"An excellently written page-turner, with a feel for the period which invites you into the era and keeps you there." (Historical Writers Association)

What listeners say about The Bear's Blade

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Can’t wait for the next adventure!

A great combination of story telling and narration. Sucks you into the Viking world and awaiting the next great story!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for millwalldave
  • millwalldave
  • 07-25-22

jaw dropping moments

The blacksmiths action wow just wow jawdropping breathholding OMG, Everyone must listen to this.

.