adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It’s not only secrets that are buried by the water.... A gripping crime thriller from best seller master Nick Louth.

On the tree-lined banks of Surrey’s River Wey, a decaying corpse is dug up by workmen in the middle of an Anglo-Saxon burial site. His modern dental fillings show that this is no Dark Age corpse....

DCI Craig Gillard is called in, but the body’s condition makes identification difficult. One man, however, seems to fit the bill: Ozzy Blanchard, a contractor employed by the same water firm doing the digging who disappeared six months ago, his crashed company car found nearby.

But then an X-ray of the corpse throws the investigation into turmoil. A shard of metal lodged in his neck turns out to be part of an Anglo-Saxon dagger unknown to archaeologists. Who wielded this mystery weapon and why? Does the answer lie in a murderous feud between two local families?

The deeper Gillard digs, the more shocking truths he will uncover.

A totally original crime mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end, The Body Beneath the Willows is an absolute thrill-ride, perfect for fans of Michael Connelly, Ann Cleeves and Mark Billingham.

©2022 Nick Louth (P)2022 W F Howes

What listeners say about The Body Beneath the Willows

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Listen

Pace and plot suffer in comparison with other books in this series. Still, intriguing and diverting. I recommend that Audible check the recording quality. Marston York, a great voice actor, sounds garbled occasionally in this work, and the expression and tone of some of his female voices are at odds with the content of their conversations.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good as always!!

always a great story! this story may have been a bit more "dry" than usual, but still fantastic! the narration
is flawless.. i definitely have a voice crush! lol! I LOVED the ending .. it gives me hope for another installment!!! PLEASE!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Back to his best !

Nick Louth, having abandoned the idea of making Craig Gillard a secondary character, has written what could be his best detective novel so far.
The Body beneath the Willows is a terrific script, well planned and meticulously developed along its double route.
It's an excellent example of Louth's ability to convey the everyday drudgery of police work while making it really interesting.
By far my favourite of the nine novels: here's hoping he doesn't stray from the familiar Craig Gillard route again, for it's a most enjoyable way to go.
:)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I love this author and reader. Perfect combination .
Timing and rhythm of story is so well developed.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MoyaAnn
  • MoyaAnn
  • 02-05-22

Prophecy

Yet another excellently narrated and well research story. I have listened to all previous books and have difficulty putting them down until I reach the end. I eagerly await the next book in the series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. M. Spencer
  • S. M. Spencer
  • 03-29-22

enjoyable listen

enjoyable listen as always from Nick louths books involving Craig Gillard. I can't wait to listen to the next one.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David M J Chapman
  • David M J Chapman
  • 03-18-22

irritating at first

Like other reviews I found the constant references to Covid early on in the book a tad irritating. But once the book got into its stride it was good and so much better than the previous book. Some if Marston Yorks voices came across as rather silly.
Unfortunately this installment is a far cry from the superb earlier books in the series but still a good listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-14-22

Great story

Great story with twists and surprises. Believeable characters that matured as the tale progressed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Oops 66
  • Oops 66
  • 03-06-22

Excellent thriller

I really enjoyed this found hard to put down. Looking forward to the next book I hope it has been started already and as good as this one x

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 03-03-22

Another great crime thriller by Nick Louth

what I love most about Nick Mouth's crime thrillers are that the plot and main characters are so believable . The personal background sub stories add to the reality of the character's lives. The narration is perfect. On to the next one in the series...

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for r m.
  • r m.
  • 02-28-22

Good Book!

Probably my least favourite of the books so far, still worth buying and listening to!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marian Goodridge
  • Marian Goodridge
  • 02-24-22

Brilliant.

I really enjoyed this book as well as all the others in this series, looking forward to the next

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jude
  • Jude
  • 02-18-22

A return to form for Nick Louth & Craig GIllard

I was losing hope that the author had gone so far into the realms of fantasy that I had to find another author, but this book has reversed that view. A good Nick Louth, well worth listening to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Louplou
  • Louplou
  • 02-10-22

looking forward to the next book.

roll on the next book in the series.
Well written well read, good book.