• The Body Beneath the Willows

  • DCI Craig Gillard, Book 9
  • By: Nick Louth
  • Narrated by: Marston York
  • Length: 8 hrs and 44 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (200 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Body Beneath the Willows  By  cover art

The Body Beneath the Willows

By: Nick Louth
Narrated by: Marston York
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It’s not only secrets that are buried by the water.... A gripping crime thriller from best seller master Nick Louth.

On the tree-lined banks of Surrey’s River Wey, a decaying corpse is dug up by workmen in the middle of an Anglo-Saxon burial site. His modern dental fillings show that this is no Dark Age corpse....

DCI Craig Gillard is called in, but the body’s condition makes identification difficult. One man, however, seems to fit the bill: Ozzy Blanchard, a contractor employed by the same water firm doing the digging who disappeared six months ago, his crashed company car found nearby.

But then an X-ray of the corpse throws the investigation into turmoil. A shard of metal lodged in his neck turns out to be part of an Anglo-Saxon dagger unknown to archaeologists. Who wielded this mystery weapon and why? Does the answer lie in a murderous feud between two local families?

The deeper Gillard digs, the more shocking truths he will uncover.

A totally original crime mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end, The Body Beneath the Willows is an absolute thrill-ride, perfect for fans of Michael Connelly, Ann Cleeves and Mark Billingham.

©2022 Nick Louth (P)2022 W F Howes

What listeners say about The Body Beneath the Willows

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    126
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    135
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    112
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Listen

Pace and plot suffer in comparison with other books in this series. Still, intriguing and diverting. I recommend that Audible check the recording quality. Marston York, a great voice actor, sounds garbled occasionally in this work, and the expression and tone of some of his female voices are at odds with the content of their conversations.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This series is under-rated. It shouldn't be.

These kind of fly under the radar - not sure why. I've really like Craig Gillard from the Get-Go. These are classic 'ensemble' police procedurals. There must be literally millions of them - and they are Not all created equal. These are well-written, and believable with an engaging central character, good supporting characters, and strong narration. Also - they tend NOT to be about savage, crazed, gruesome, sexually deviant serial killers. Nor is Craig an alcoholic harboring a Dark Past. (I've got very sick of all of that - very predictable.) Instead, he's a pretty normal smart guy and good policeman who gets interesting cases and approaches them intelligently. Not every one of the series is absolutely fantastic. But this is one of the good ones.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Mildly Entertaining

The storyline was predictable and not particularly interesting. The covid tie ins were useful to the plot. The subplot with his aunt is becoming tiresome and that may have turned me off early on, even though she does not play a large role in this book. The need to introduce another complication by promoting what could be an enemy boss has also turned me off. I am tired of the let's make the lead characters life difficult formula.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good as always!!

always a great story! this story may have been a bit more "dry" than usual, but still fantastic! the narration
is flawless.. i definitely have a voice crush! lol! I LOVED the ending .. it gives me hope for another installment!!! PLEASE!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Back to his best !

Nick Louth, having abandoned the idea of making Craig Gillard a secondary character, has written what could be his best detective novel so far.
The Body beneath the Willows is a terrific script, well planned and meticulously developed along its double route.
It's an excellent example of Louth's ability to convey the everyday drudgery of police work while making it really interesting.
By far my favourite of the nine novels: here's hoping he doesn't stray from the familiar Craig Gillard route again, for it's a most enjoyable way to go.
:)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I love this author and reader. Perfect combination .
Timing and rhythm of story is so well developed.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David M J Chapman
  • David M J Chapman
  • 03-18-22

irritating at first

Like other reviews I found the constant references to Covid early on in the book a tad irritating. But once the book got into its stride it was good and so much better than the previous book. Some if Marston Yorks voices came across as rather silly.
Unfortunately this installment is a far cry from the superb earlier books in the series but still a good listen.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MoyaAnn
  • MoyaAnn
  • 02-05-22

Prophecy

Yet another excellently narrated and well research story. I have listened to all previous books and have difficulty putting them down until I reach the end. I eagerly await the next book in the series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-14-22

Great story

Great story with twists and surprises. Believeable characters that matured as the tale progressed.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizsheba
  • elizsheba
  • 07-31-22

Dull story about plumbing

I liked the body in the snow and the body on the moor books. But this one is awfully dull. Endless discussions about waterworks, pollution, water engineering, ecology etc etc and the disgusting Aunt Trish returned from the dead - only I just hope that she ll will go into horizon.
Gave up on chapter 13
And gave it back.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A
  • A
  • 06-16-22

An intricate plot!

Another great read, well narrated. This series is among my top favourite detective fiction- was quite pleased to not have had much in the way of private life diversion ‘

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. M. Spencer
  • S. M. Spencer
  • 03-29-22

enjoyable listen

enjoyable listen as always from Nick louths books involving Craig Gillard. I can't wait to listen to the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-03-22

Covid obsessed!

Firstly, this book is by no means as awful as the last. The usual format with Gillard as the central character has thankfully resumed, however this story is nowhere near as good as earlier ones. The most irritating thing is the constant mentions of covid, masks, sanitiser, social distancing, lockdowns, zoom, isolating etc etc. I understand the odd mention to memorialise a time in history, but it went far too far. There is so much that is disrupting and irrelevant to the story. If you listen to books for escapism don’t bother with this one! Just as we start to get past the last two years this drags you right back in.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Oxfordshire lady
  • Oxfordshire lady
  • 09-21-22

Clever and intelligent

Intelligent police crime take. No ridiculous leaps to a brilliant conclusion. Ends all tied up. Very satisfactory

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alex M
  • Alex M
  • 07-17-22

great story

clever plot, well presented, very enjoyable.keeps you guessing right up to the end, recommended

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicola
  • Nicola
  • 07-16-22

Slow start

Took me some time to get in to this one - but worth it in the end.