adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Diamond-sharp and savagely wry, The Body Scout is a timely science-fiction thriller debut set in an all-too-possible future, perfect for fans of William Gibson.

In the future you can have any body you want - as long as you can afford it.

But in a New York ravaged by climate change and repeat pandemics, Kobo is barely scraping by. He scouts the latest in gene-edited talent for Big Pharma-owned baseball teams, but his own cybernetics are a decade out of date, and twin sister loan sharks are banging down his door. Things couldn't get much worse.

Then his brother - Monsanto Mets slugger J.J. Zunz - is murdered at home plate.

Determined to find the killer, Kobo plunges into a world of genetically modified CEOs, philosophical Neanderthals, and back-alley body modification, only to quickly find he's in a game far bigger and more corrupt than he imagined. To keep himself together while the world is falling apart, he'll have to navigate a time where both body and soul are sold to the highest bidder. 

"I devoured it." (Jonathan Lethem)

©2021 Lincoln Michel (P)2021 Orbit

What listeners say about The Body Scout

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great concepts and narration…lacking in depth.

The future imagines by the author is like a fever dream of genetic mutations and feels a little cyberpunk at times and a lot dystopian future at others. Sometimes it’s too much or conceptually not possible or described inaccurately (I’m a hard sci-fi guy) but it’s also being told from the point of view of somebody who wouldn’t necessarily know all the details so I’ll forgive that.

The story moved along at a fast pace and I was never bored. I just wanted a little more. Some time this felt like it was trying to be a mix of different stories or writing styles. Others it just clicked. All that said I still enjoyed the hell out of it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great sci-fi take on baseball

Great narrator. Funny, dark and fast paced. Many baseball references though not about baseball. Actually book and narrator did a good job on baseball play by play so that it all worked smoothly in the overall detective story. Explored characters well. Several twists I didn’t expect.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Body Scout Soars

The future is upsetting but fascinating. Read it and try to believe that every institution has your best interests at heart.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved this fast paced book.

great read and fabulous narrator!! This book is not just for Sci-fi lovers. The author has a unique writing style with lots of humor intertwined in a dystopian although not unbelievable future.