1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Body Under the Piano  By  cover art

The Body Under the Piano

By: Marthe Jocelyn,Isabelle Follath
Narrated by: Sarah English
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $22.39

Buy for $22.39

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A smart and charming middle-grade mystery series starring young detective Aggie Morton and her friend Hector, inspired by the imagined life of Agatha Christie as a child and her most popular creation, Hercule Poirot. For fans of Lemony Snicket and The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency.

Aggie Morton lives in a small town on the coast of England in 1902. Adventurous and imaginative but deeply shy, Aggie hasn't got much to do since the death of her beloved father...until the fateful day when she crosses paths with 12-year-old Belgian immigrant Hector Perot and discovers a dead body on the floor of the Mermaid Dance Room! As the number of suspects grows and the murder threatens to tear the town apart, Aggie and her new friend will need every tool at their disposal - including their insatiable curiosity, deductive skills, and not a little help from their friends - to solve the case before Aggie's beloved dance instructor is charged with a crime Aggie is sure she didn't commit. 

Filled with mystery, adventure, an unforgettable heroine, and several helpings of tea and sweets, The Body Under the Piano is the clever debut of a new series for middle-grade listeners and Christie and Poirot fans everywhere, from a Governor General's Award-nominated author of historical fiction for children.

©2020 Marthe Jocelyn (P)2020 Tundra Books

Critic Reviews

"Heartfelt, funny and suspenseful, The Body under the Piano is an excellent beginning to what is sure to be a pleasantly gruesome series." (Shelf Awareness, starred review)

"Jocelyn offers an enjoyable entrée to the Queen of Crime and to the genre; the narrative’s arch tone, the girl’s vital grandmother, and the novel’s surfeit of extravagant teas should please." (Publishers Weekly)

"A remarkable, cool, and likable detective." (Kirkus Reviews)   

What listeners say about The Body Under the Piano

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robert
  • Robert
  • 09-27-20

What a gem!

Brilliantly imagined! This mystery novel for kids os absolutely captivating from start to finish. The characters are fascinating, and the story keeps you on your toes. The narrator has done an excellent job. Cannot wait to read the next book!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deirdre E Siegel
  • Deirdre E Siegel
  • 11-24-22

Book 1

Enjoyable start to new series, where we meet the main characters, sadly the ‘do as I say not as I do’ governess lets the story down, while understanding the need for historic realism, her nasty belittling of the young and intelligent main characters is unnecessary.
Hoping book 2 does not question my outlay of credits, as the story line is very promising, thank you Marthe Jocelyn and Isabelle Follath, much appreciated. :-)