• The Body on the Island

  • DCI Craig Gillard, Book 6
  • By: Nick Louth
  • Narrated by: Marston York
  • Length: 9 hrs and 39 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (290 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Body on the Island  By  cover art

The Body on the Island

By: Nick Louth
Narrated by: Marston York
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

He was never truly gone, only biding his time....

Late on midsummer's night there is a splash in the river Thames. A body is found on an island, asphyxiated and laced with strange markings. For DCI Craig Gillard it's a baffling case. The victim's identity is elusive, clues are scarce and every witness has something to hide.

Meanwhile one of Britain's deadliest serial killers is finally up for parole after a deal to reveal the location of two missing bodies. The felon has his own plans to get even with witnesses, accusers and the officer who caught him 30 years before. And who was that? A young trainee by the name of Gillard.

An explosive crime thriller from master storyteller Nick Louth, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Cara Hunter and Robert Bryndza.

©2020 Nick Louth (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Body on the Island

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    159
  • 4 Stars
    91
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    193
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    131
  • 4 Stars
    76
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really Good But Ending Weird

Ethical concerns here. Even after thirty years, how can Neville Rollason be released on parole, he who murdered all those boys? Vigilantes vow he will not last long. Meanwhile Rollason has his own secret agenda - carefully plotted all this time is devastating revenge on all who helped put him away....

Caught up in the middle are DCI Craig Gillard and his team. Actually at the moment this is not their prime concern, mystery surrounding a corpse dumped at night in the Thames. How came the body to be so crushed?

The powerful start grabs attention. Police procedural is convincingly portrayed - the slow but sure sifting of information received, all the while homing in on the possible truth.

Overall reaction depends on how much the listener can believe in motivations eventually attributed and events described in the closing chapters. After so much ringing true, there seemed a lurch into the surreal, sequences that did not really seem to belong. I found the ending of the book unbelievable but it is fiction and I was entertained .

Thought provoking, though, is the central issue. Are some crimes so heinous that perpetrators should never be released?

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Worst of the Gillard books

Although Marston York has read all the Gillard books there is something different about this reading, kind of droned on. The premise was bizarre, not even remotely realistic. So glad its over

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing & Very Creepy

I really like this series and so picked it up this new title right away. Sad to say I nearly returned it a few minutes in- I wish I had. It was.just too creepy & gross. I hope i can get some of the images out of my mind very soon.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Body on the Island

Was a great book with great characters and great action with a great story and a great ending looking forward to the next book thanks 💪🤠🍷

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series!

A complex and intriguing mystery. Plenty of hateful villains to cheer against and a bizarre answer to a couple of mysterious deaths. The new female detective added to the squad is a great addition to the series. Keep ‘em coming please, Mr. Louth!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

All build-up, no pay-off

This is my least favorite of the series so far. Started out with the potential to be the best of the bunch, but didn’t live up to it. If DCI Gillard is the reason you listen to this series then just a heads up, he’s in this book far less than any of the others. Almost a secondary character. I’ll move on to the next book because I still enjoy the series. But hoping this is the only bump in the road.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series

This series is my go to when new books come out to listen to while I work.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Too many directions…

I’ve enjoyed these books but this one not so much. So many different directions fo this story, and I felt it didn’t close up all of them. I enjoy hearing about home life so I was disappointed.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible plot

No spoilers, but the ending was truly ridiculous. Interesting storyline that has a lazy and completely implausible ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • UC
  • 06-19-21

Great Story

Really enjoy the DCI Gillard series. Fantastic narration. Please keep up the great work, with new plot twists and new characters.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John Saltford
  • John Saltford
  • 02-09-21

A good series spoiled by increasing horror

This series of thrillers is well written with complex structure which is well thought out. It was very enjoyable and I looked forward to the next one in the series, but the author has got lazy. Stereotype dodgy cops are becoming too much of a feature. A gratuitous level of description of the actions of various perpetrators. This level of malevolence goes through this most recent book that it feels the author had forgotten that the genre was detective thriller or police proceedual and was writing for the followers of Conte de Sade.

A classic case of a series of detective novels that went on too long.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daisy
  • Daisy
  • 12-06-20

Laughable

This story line was a little absurd. I love this series, however this book had me laughing out loud at the ‘gruesome’ murder reveal. I’m chuckling now just thinking about how ridiculous it was, I’ve even spoken about this book to several different people because I thought it was so bizarre. . I would say it’s still worth a listen, but it’s a bit different from the others.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms K Sheard
  • Ms K Sheard
  • 01-16-21

Not the best

I have enjoyed the other books by Nick Louth, but this was not up to his usual standard. The characters seemed superficial, and the reveal not unexpected. Not a bad book, but a bit disappointing.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs
  • Mrs
  • 11-23-20

absurd

normally I really enjoy these books but the story line on this one was frankly bonkers. it really didn't move the ongoing story line on with the regular characters and the new characters were like caricatures of real people. hopefully the next one will be back to normal.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for EastAnglianwriter
  • EastAnglianwriter
  • 01-04-21

The narrator really isn't working for this book

I'm half way through and Instead of finding myself lost in the story which i have with previous Nick Louth books, and this series in particular, I'm pulled and pulled up time and again by the poor narration - Although it is the same narrator from previous books in this one the reading sounds leaden and the women's voices are out of kilter - the Scottish female officer sounds like a hairy truck driver and a couple of the others really robotic - I'm losing the story and the sense of the characters in amongst the clumsy narration

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Indigoviolet
  • Indigoviolet
  • 01-06-21

Bizarre story

Not the best of the series but full of twists. Some of the character voices are terrible but worth a listen overall

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen
  • Karen
  • 04-02-21

One of the best narrators I have heard

I good yarn can be ruin by the voice and flow of the narrator. In this case, and for all the preceding Nick louth books, I cannot praise the narrator enough -magic. About to download next book in the Gillard series 👌🏻

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ann gayford
  • ann gayford
  • 02-25-21

drawn out

struggled to finish it. very disappointed in it as it failed to grab my attention







2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jody Taylor
  • Jody Taylor
  • 01-14-21

Enjoyed but see why others find it a little far fetched

Love this series of books.
Enjoyed the story and yes, it is a little far fetched but it didn’t hinder my overall liking of it.
Looking forward to number 7 when it is available.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wendy
  • wendy
  • 12-09-20

Awful ending

I was truly offended by the perverse ending of this book. I could never recommend buying this book. It is a shame because I have enjoyed the author’s previous books.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 10-30-20

Triffic

I so enjoy nick louths writing. He does have a wild imagination. This was great. Except for the narrators who was rather limited in the characters he did. He needs to extend his performances.